Panic Grips Karachi

Following the tragic news, Karachi appears to be in a grip of unprecedented panic right now. There is obvious panic and everyone is shocked. As the offices get closed down, people are rushing to their homes in anticipation of protests.

From the CNN’s headline:

Former Pakistan Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto has died, according to media reports. Bhutto’s husband was quoted by Pakistan’s GEO TV as saying she suffered a bullet wound to her neck after a suicide bombing that killed at least 14 supporters at a rally today.

Related posts:

1. 15% in Karachi back suicide bombers: study
  2. Dawn News Reports on BB’s Landing
  3. Construction fever grips Karachi!
  4. KMB in the media : )
  5. Panic attacks.

134 Comments so far

1. MB (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 6:53 pm

Breaking News:
    (As i write this post i can firing in the background coming from Golimar Side. Readers be careful outside.)
    Benazir Bhutto scummed to serious bullet injuries in a public rally in Rawalpindi after a huge blast that left 15-18 people dead. BBC initially reported BB as injured, then seriously injured & dead half an hour later. While the government once again called it suicide bombing ( easiest way to forget everything) the fact that there was firing on her first shows there is more to it then what the authorities say. I personally i think its again a Chaudhry planned, ISI sponsored drama as she was becoming too heavy for establishment. One due to her hardcore anti-Taliban views, secondly her animosity towards the Chaudhries of Punjab (who by the way do have some sympathy towards Taliban & were quite prominent in helping Madrassah’s in past, Ejazul-Haq being prominent. It helps them keep the rural Punjab in darkness disallowing education especially for girls). Her trust on USA led her down again. In the end it will be the people of Pakistan paying the price as our leaders continue to repeat history.

But these are all rants & i am quite confident in assuming they will remain so just like all establishment sponsored acts remained hidden.

The emergency was recently (at least on paper) removed but from the outlook i smell Martial Law as other reports coming from Karachi & elsewhere are not good. Where we heading for heaven’s sake.

2. entitled-to-opinions (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 6:56 pm

shit shit shit… this wont end well

3. Hisham (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:00 pm

The shit storm is about to begin… is even one month of stability too much to ask for…?

4. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:03 pm

now elections are as good as over.. pakistan , especially karachi should brace for violence in coming days.. tragic!

5. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:05 pm

earlier in the day PML N rally also came under heavy firing.. 4 people died.. wtf was govt and security agencies doing..!

6. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:10 pm

Liaqut Ali Khan to BB .. liaqut bagh proved too much

7. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:12 pm

naheed khan was sitting next to bb in that landcruiser is injured.. seems like the fire that was shot from close range hit her in neck and proved to be fatal..

8. Silver (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:15 pm

Here at Saddar… I am amidst chaos

9. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:16 pm

every one should head home.. things will get worse

10. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:18 pm

call your loved ones and advice them to head for home, hope every one reach home safely..

11. silver (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:23 pm

Now what will happen to all the wealth! 4bn and mansions

12. Reality_check (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:25 pm

MB no Conspiracy Theories Please. We have had enough! Right now we are not slightly interested in what you personally think.Its a sad day for our country and we should all take a breather to reflect and ride this storm out. We invited chaos and man we have got one!

13. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:26 pm

Altaf bai is wailing and howling on tv in his typical style.. he called bb as shaheed..

14. silver (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:27 pm

Please do not head home, stay where you are. If you get stuck in traffic and goons get to you… there is trouble

Take my advice, stay in your office if you have to sleep if you have to

15. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:28 pm

i can hear gun shots being fired in my area

16. Echoes (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:29 pm

And so my friends, it begins.

Civil war is a serious possibility.

17. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:35 pm

dictator’s enlightened moderation and his tail wagging behind american lead to this day..

18. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:37 pm

Altaf bai is now busy howling n wailing on geo tv

19. Dr.Hussain (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:38 pm

God help khi,my condolence to bhutto family esp her children and her husband.I think death is only the BEGINNING

20. Ali Asim (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:38 pm

I am disgusted and appalled by the nature of the comments made by doctor .

We should all be praying for this country at this sensitive time but it’s just unbelievable that Doctor still can’t resist making remarks about a leader of another party and spreading hatred , this is just shameful behaviour .

21. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:40 pm

her bullet proof landcruiser wasn’t helpful coz that gunman fired at the vehicle and once fires were shot her driver sped away from the scene ,while the same gunman then exploded himself..

22. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:48 pm

@Ali Asim waling and howling Altaf bai tantamounts to spreading hatred?

23. Reality_check (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:50 pm

I havent used such words before, but, SHAME ON YOU DOCTOR. Your comments are appalling and in a very bad taste.

This is the time to limit chaos and make sincere efforts that no more innocent lives are lost and no houses are burned. Communities and leaders should work together to ensure that.

24. Fariha Akhtar (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:55 pm

SF and adjoining areas are UNSAFE….so all those who r thinking to leave offices MUST stay in their offices until situation gets a little calmer. I made the mistake of going out and had to came back running :(

25. Ali K (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 7:57 pm

MB no Conspiracy Theories Please. We have had enough! Right now we are not slightly interested in what you personally think.

And same to you DOCTOR RETARD.

SCREW THE POLTICS. MB is a freaking moron!!

Shamsheer and Zamzama are also on fire right now. People got shot on gizri as well. Everyone, pray for pakistan. THis shit needs to end!

26. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:03 pm

name calling from intolerant MQM fanatics have started on this forum.. just goes on to show that things can get really nasty here in karachi within minutes..

27. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:06 pm

mobile networks are busy ever since that new is broken.. called your loved ones they might be trying to get in touch with you and unable to get thru

28. Arsalaan Haleem (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:07 pm

There is a lot of violence on streets…..with some miscreants throwing empty cola bottles on the passing cars and a rickshaw was overturned.
    Couldn’t saw more as I was peeking from my gates.

Stay safe everyone.

29. Reality_check (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:08 pm

DOCTOR this is not about MQM or Altaf or any body else, why did you bring this petty talk into this? Are you happy inside about what has happened? Do you want to see more blood spilled? Do you want turn this unfortunate incident into an opportunity to rant something that is totally irrelevant?

You are making me feel sick and disgusted.

30. Reality_check (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:12 pm

STAY SAFE GUYS and STAY PUT. Venture out only after curfew or something is imposed and some sort of sanity returns.

31. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:23 pm

buses n other transport have vanished from roads and
    people on foot are trying to reach homes..

32. MS (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:25 pm

Can anyone update us with the latest situation in Karachi?

33. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:25 pm

earlier in the day Nawaz’s rally also came under fire and 4 of his supporter died.. seems like some body was really hard at work to get things messed up.. and he succeeded

34. Jameel (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:31 pm

It’s time to foregt our diffrences and unite for our country, for our city, for our future generations .

And for people like Doctor, please just today can you keep your comments positivee …

Jameel

35. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:35 pm

one of Mush’s minister issued a statement that elections won’t be postponed and would be held on 8th jan as planned..

i can constantly hear gun shots being fired

36. TEE BEE (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:38 pm

Watch Breaking news video here at VIDPK:

http://www.vidpk.com/view_video.php?vid=4838

37. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:40 pm

Gulishtan-e-juhar police station ransacked by protestors , countless cars burnt

38. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:43 pm

park your vehicles inside if possible coz miscreant are even burning vehicles everywhere they can get their hands on..

39. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:45 pm

in all major cities of pakistan things are really tense like never before

40. Tanveer (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:48 pm

its a really bad time for Pakistan, many people have died today. I pray to Allah, that situation remains calm and the people who are responsible for this mess get what they deserve.

41. entitled-to-opinions (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:51 pm

gizri and shamsheer on fire.

42. Aasoo Billa (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:56 pm

Where is the writ, and where’s the state? Eight plus years of military rule, and the country sinks ever deeper.

43. Pakistani (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 8:57 pm

bar bque, liberty books and bilawal chowk on fire.

Sad day. May God protect Pakistan.

44. Kashif (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:00 pm

Please report with credibility. This forums is read and quoted by many so do not report anything until it is 100% authenticated.

45. Aasoo Billa (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:01 pm

What’s God got to do with protecting Pakistan?

46. ali (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:01 pm

why can’t some ppl in karachi just sit in their home and observe a moment of peace in order to show respect to this sensitive situation. for anything (anywhere in the country) bad karachi has to go bananas.

47. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:05 pm

@ali itz not just karachi, things are tense all across pakistan atm

48. Azam (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:06 pm

Please help me

I am from Karachi but I am currently in London , I am very worried about my family who live in Block D North Nazimabad , I phoned several time but phone lines are jammed and calls not goiung through , can somebody pls confim all is OK in North Nazimabad !!

Azam

49. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:07 pm

Mush announced 3 days of mourning period

50. faisal (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:10 pm

I heard that police/ranger have been posted accross the city, atleast on shahrae faisal. can anybody confirm.

51. shad0w (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:11 pm

Purani Sabzi Mandi on fire…. Stadium Road only one way and totally jam packed!!!!!…. God save Karachi!

52. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:12 pm

@Azam just keep trying, few of my relatives are still unaccounted for, coz phone networks are busy..some of my relatives were on the way home when
    things got worse and have taken refuge at their friends/colleagues homes

53. Balma (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:16 pm

* Reality_Check wrote:

Venture out only after curfew

***** Haaaai’n?

54. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:17 pm

Mr Bush issuing statement about BB’s death

55. Ali K (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:19 pm

Shamsheer area has quited down. I guess they got tired or burning and breaking everything. My prayers go to all those out there who are still stuck on roads.

I hope this incident brings all of us closer together, rather than further apart. Let go of petty politics, and work together for a United Pakistan. Its not about Sindhi, Balochi, Muhajir, Punjabi, etc anymore, its about being Pakistani.

Lets all pray together for Pakistan. And let us be the difference by controlling our own emotions, and not pointing at each other with blame.

56. Balma (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:20 pm

Khass kum, jahaan paak

57. Balma (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:22 pm

Khass kum - jahaan paak.

58. fatma (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:34 pm

this is really sad. im not from PK but I feel bad for my fellow Muslims. BB was killed by the same kufar who started civil war in many muslim countries. Allah bring peace

59. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:36 pm

Shah lateef express and Khushal Khan express two trains have been burnt after passengers were asked to dislodge

60. Aasoo Billa (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:36 pm

Educational institutions and businesses to be closed for 3-days. Yeah, like we have too much education and are too successful economically!

61. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:38 pm

15 containers loaded with wheat have been burnt in korangi

62. SELF (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:38 pm

The first thing that went through my mind was on lines “sau bars ka samaan aur pal kee khabar nahain”…All 60 billion she stole from poor public of Pakistan, denying then education, health and what not, she is not going to use them after all. gunah e bay lazat. Wonder if her amnesty by Musharaf will extend to hereafter…hope not.

63. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:42 pm

edhi center have announced discontinuation of their Ambulance service, according to them many of their drivers were manhandled and killed during 12th may’s massacre so this time they’re careful and don’t want to put the lives of their drivers and volunteers in danger

64. Asif Raza Khaskheli (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:43 pm

please join this group in the memory of Benazir Bhutto on facebook,

Thankyou.

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=6939807981

65. asad (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:43 pm

al-qaeda has claimed responsibility.

http://www.adnkronos.com/AKI/English/Security/?id=1.0.1710322437

stay safe everyone.

66. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:46 pm

CCPO karachi(karachi police chief) have ordered all police force to lock the main gates of all police stations and stay inside

67. Balma (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:47 pm

*15 containers loaded with wheat have been burnt in korangi

**** this is exactly why I believe that Pakistanis have become totally stupid as a result of centuries of inbreeding, lack of education (25 % literacy rate), over population, bad fatty food (this is a new one from me), and lack of self-respect (eg. throwing garbage outside one’s own home).

Also, I agree with D*, at least what he implied, how silly Altaf Hussain seems like by calling her shaheed. Shaheed for what, after she and her piThoo Naseerullah killed thousands in Karachi and Hyderabad, including her own brother. Shaheed for what, Altaf bhai? It will be alright to express condolence….but calling her shaheed???

68. Pretty Simple (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:50 pm

Karachi, i feel so sad for u.

69. zak (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:51 pm

maybe we should avoid comments that make people angry…

70. Ali K (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:51 pm

“15 containers loaded with wheat have been burnt in korangi” - Doctor

That is soo horrible. Are these people retarded ? Who gains from this ?!?

71. A A R (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:51 pm

My god, the authors of this blog are absolutely useless.

Yes, Benazir is dead. But this is a Karachi Metroblog. It’s all right to post a topic mourning her death, but at the very least someone could write a detailed article about the situation in Karachi, what routes (if any) are safe, what roads should be avoided, and above all how retarded the people of Karachi are. Burning a hospital FFS! My god the people of this city suck.

72. Balma (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 9:53 pm

*CCPO karachi(karachi police chief) have ordered all police force to lock the main gates of all police stations and stay inside

D* Are you trying your hand at comedy? Please say yes or get ready to hear another angry tirade from me on inbred Pakistani population.

73. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:05 pm

@Balma that CCPO story i quoted from Ajj Tv..

74. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:08 pm

actualy there are reports that Gulistan-e-juhar PS have been ransacked by mob so maybe Police Cheif wanted his force to stay safe so ordered precautionary measures.. he did the same thing on 12th may as well while karachi burnt and police was hiding inside their police stations..

75. IUnknown (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:08 pm

i dont think there wud be any civil war.
    Ppl will calm down in a week as usual.
    Also, none of ordinary citizens have any thing to do with these politicians. I wonder if the same thing happens with remaining 3 politicians.

I luckily have made my way home as it was little jam at that time. Almost all of the intersections were jam, in my way.

ALLAH bless pakistan. AMEEN

76. IUnknown (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:14 pm

which news paper is this?
    also, @doctor from where have u got the news regarding the police station

77. Rizwan (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:16 pm

http://www.longlivepakistan.com going after Extremists.

78. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:18 pm

All we can and should do is pray for all that lost their lives today.

Slinging mud, accusing and abusing people can be done at another time - this is not it.

Its a time for unity and calmness as to not provoke emotional folks and start a civil war.

We all loose that way.

Stay in and stay safe guys & please refrain from spreading rumers & abusing people.

79. zak (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:18 pm

i can see police mobiles roaming around on streets.. im at defence shamsheer area near saudi embassy … so police isnt sitting inside their stations … i dont know abt other areas

80. Balma (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:25 pm

**** that CCPO story i quoted from Ajj Tv

I don’t beleive you. If you really think you are good at comedy, please talk to Moin Akhtar or something, instead of writing these chichoree one lines on KMB…. like police is hiding inside the police station or people are buring wheat when until yesterday you were claiming flour is every expensive. Shame on your attempt at humor at such a time.

81. Balma (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:29 pm

Or let me put it this way, D*, either you are being funny or you better agree with me that Karachiites and Pakistanis are mental retards due to inbreeding etc.
    Which way you gonna go? Check mate, baby!

82. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:29 pm

Balma am not insisting any one to believe me am merely quoting new channels..

83. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:34 pm

flour is very expensive even today.. infact if we’ll be having a 2~3 days strike then things would get even wrose.. many poor people are buy flour on daily basis coz they simply can’t afford to buy weekly or monthly rations

84. Ali (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:41 pm

punjab killed the 3rd PM from sindh and karachi.

85. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:43 pm

many families stuck on super highway near toll plaza on the way to hyderabad..

86. zak (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 10:44 pm

well.. lets not blame anyone here.. poeple plz inform other people abt the situation in their areas.. thats most important at this stage, avoid political comments that create hatred among poeple..

87. IUnknown (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 11:00 pm

@ali: again racism.
    U mqm cheapsters are always like that, no matter how much u get educated or wat ever.

I have heard altaf was crying on Tv. Another comedy show to watch laters :D

88. asad (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 11:05 pm

IUnknown: adnkronos is an italian press agency.

again, i hope everyone stays safe, in karachi and elsewhere.

89. Ali K (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 11:08 pm

IUnknown you fag, take a break from your bullshit just for a day okay ? moron!

BTW..PPP is from Sindh too IDIOT. What makes you think Ali is from MQM?

Listen to ZAK, “thats most important at this stage, avoid political comments that create hatred among poeple.. “

90. Pretty Simple (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 11:24 pm

“avoid political comments that create hatred among poeple.. “

V true, PLEaassssseee Do that.

91. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 11:25 pm

Mush’s relation with BB was like that of jealousy between first wife n second wife.. he didn’t really liked the idea of West(US/UK) working with Benazir instead of him.. as we all know he had been called as used ammunition by western policy makers..

but if Mush thinks that benazir’s exit from the scene will again make him america’s sweetheart then he is mistaken..

92. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 11:28 pm

bb’s body moved from hospital to chaklala airbase

93. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 11:32 pm

both Talat hussain n Nusrat Jawaid are back on Ajj… supposedly defying pemra’s orders

94. Kashif (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 11:43 pm

PEMRA office burnt in Karachi, probably by GEO?

95. Steve (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 11:48 pm

As a former American metblogger (Atlanta) I felt compelled to link this entry in an article I wrote for Radar Magazine’s current events blog, “Fresh Intelligence,” referencing some of the blog reaction to Ms. Bhutto’s assassination. A lot of us here know to go to the Pakistani blogs first, rather than the press. All of you, stay safe.

96. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 27th, 2007 11:56 pm

state bank has issued a notification ordering a 3 day closure of all financial institutions countrywide.. while traders have announced a 4 day mourning

97. Naveen (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 12:05 am

Democracy … who needs it? Bring back the uniform. Leave it to the masses, and they’ll loot, burn, cripple … are we “rational minds” worthy of voting rights. No.

To hell with democracy & corresponding power in the hands of the opportunistic, unwise & ill-intentioned.

98. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 12:09 am
  99. Balma (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 12:13 am

I hate to ask this question when someone has just died, people might think I am insensitive, but what about the 1.5 billion US dollars that she accumulated while in government twice? If by chance, a real decent govt ever takes hold in Pakistan (people will now think I am attempting humor like Doctor), what is the legal position on the government of the day going after ill-gotten assets of a dead person? Is that moron Zardari liable to return the money? Can the state go after him? or is khael khatam, paisa hazam?

Can the state go after her kids. Oh, this brings me to another point….which one of her kids is going to lead people’s party now?….please, this is not a joke… I would really like to know which one of her kids will be the next life time chairperson of PPP? As we know, it MUST be someone named Bhutto. Even if the kids are using maternal name than their father’s family name, inspite of the convention.

100. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 12:27 am

haven’t you heard about dictator’s NRO which pardoned BB’s financial corruption cases and MQM’s 22000 cases of murder killings and extortion..

101. Steve (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 12:30 am

@ doctor — speedy Radar editors fixed the link. Thank you!

102. wasiq (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 12:42 am

Woh lardki kitni sunder thi
    Merey piyasey maan ka sammander thi…..

saein iam very sorry…

103. Balma (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 12:43 am

But, I thought that NRO had to be confirmed by Pakistan’s excuse for a parliament?

104. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 12:45 am

elections postponed

105. Balma (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 12:46 am

*Woh lardki kitni sunder thi

Especially, after the nose job (plastic surgery)!
    Also, please avoid using cheap-ass Bombay style of writing Urdu’s hard ‘ray’ as d.
    Either larki or laRki will do fine.

Thanks.

106. 55 (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 1:44 am

It is reported that Al Qaeda has claimed responsibility:

Will this be remembered as “Pakistan’s 9/11″?

If so, will popular opinion about “Pakistan’s 9/11″ eventually be that “it was inside job”?

If so, will people eventually come to believe that it was carried out in order to justify more “emergency” powers?

Will people eventually come to believe that the aim of introducing more “emergency” powers was to establish a more permanent, more authoritarian, more right-wing, and ultimately more pro-American dictatorship?

Will people eventually come to believe that the Americans had a hand in Bhutto’s murder?

107. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 1:59 am

@55 good questions..

108. Ali (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 2:04 am

Benazir never points towards Mush she always put blame on Zia baqyat thats is Jamat e Islami, Jehadis and Punjabi Establishment.
    Aitazaz Ahsan said on Aj TV that the blame is on Punjab.
    Like Liaquat Ali Khan this case would be burried.
    This is the third time a PM from Sindh is targeted in Punjab and murdered.
    Why why why ?
    Why leader from punjab was never been hanged ?
    Nawaz and Muslim Q is same they are both happy.
    Now Sindh is orphan again and punjabi establishment will again over run sindh i guess MQM was always right not to allow Altaf Hussain to come back other wise he will meet the same fate.

109. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 2:09 am

Musharraf had been tagged as used ammunition by policy makers in west and they in west were eagerly waiting to work with benazir.. so naturally Mush was concerned about bb’s elevation to power while he was being treated as used tissue paper and as american love doing , he would have been discarded shortly after bb had settled in power and Mush no more needed..

110. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 2:25 am

Altaf bai is a british terrorist wanted by pakistan on the run.. had he returned then high security prison would have been enough to keep him safe

111. Ali (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 2:47 am

@ Dogtor
    it seems you are the most happiest men and the language you are using is also showing that you are also part of punjabi soil who never want to see mohajirs sindhi balochis and pathans as equal citizens of this nation.
    you are trying to put blame on Mush a non punjabi by diverting the attension, BB clearly tipped about who are the people behind her assination plots, it was Zia Baqiyat relegious extremists and Punjabi establishment not MQM ALtaf Hussain or Mush.
    Mush is only president not an army chief controlling Security agencies and army, why not blamming army now ?
    cause Mush a non punjabi has resigned?
    You think people of Sindh are fools ??
    shame on you barking dog.

112. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 2:51 am

@Ali seems like you love bringing ethnicity into everything by creating ethnic hatered and tension.. another MQM hallmark..

113. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 4:27 am

according to eyewitness present on the scene Ms Bhutto was waving toward her supporter from the sunroof of her bulletproof vehicle.. she had been wearing bullet proof vest as well but seems like sharp shooting assassin targeted her neck

114. Ali K (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 5:31 am

Firstly, im Ali K, not the mix me up with Ali.

Secodly, DOCTOR, are you retarded ? Do you even ready your own posts ?!? Everything you’re blaming Ali for is exactly what you’re doing.

You’re going around preaching hatred at such a devastating time for our country.

Why dont you just cut the bullshit, and just relax, and stop hating so mch. Think thats doable? If not, just go jump of a roof somewhere. m’kay? thanks in advance

115. ssa (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 9:07 am

I was shocked like this a couple times before. Once when the earth shook and killed a lac people in Pakistan (oct 8th earthquake), when psunami killed thousands in several countries and now when I heard this news. I literally started shivering when I heard the news. It’s a sad day today in the history of Pakistan. Good or bad, no one should be killed because of his/her political beliefs. It’s really really sad.

116. 55 (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 10:14 am

http://www.socialistworker.co.uk/art.php?id=13079 says:

‘Bush was swift to condemn Bhutto’s assassination, but many in Pakistan are already pointing the finger of blame at him.

“The military and their American masters have to take some of the blame for this,” said Munib Anwar from the Pakistan Lawyers Action Committee. “They brought these terrorists into Pakistan.”‘

117. 55 (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 10:58 am

an excellent resource for giving her murder some historical context:

http://www.pakistanthinktank.org

118. IUnknown (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 12:02 pm

@ali K: why dont u ask @ALI to cut the bullshitt off?

@Ali K: cant u see why @ali is always after punjabis in his post.

@ali K: stop ur lame comments.

119. Nigel Stephenson (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 2:23 pm

Hello,

My name is Nigel, and i live in Sydney Australia. I have a friend who is arriving in Karachi, departing from Bangkok at 5.10pm Karachi time. My friend is staying Pakistan for 4 weeks to teach Pakistani teachers.

The Australian teachers, as far as i am aware are still travellling to Karachi.

I would appreciate any updates, or advise from the bloggers of Karachi on the current crisis.

Thank u

Nigel

120. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 4:55 pm

@Nigel things might calm down in next 3~4 days..

121. Rajiv Parikh (unregistered) December 28th, 2007 7:53 pm

Hello friends , Metblog Bombay here !

While we are share you pain but for people like Doctor I woulld like say for people like Doctor is that :

100 Lalu prasd yadhav marte hai tho ek ghada paida hota hai , 100 ghade marte hai tho 1 kuta paida hota hai , 100 kute marte hai tho 1 suaar paida hota hai aur 100 suaar marte hai tho 1 tere jaise chutiya paida haota hai ..samja ka Doctore ya aur samjawoo?

Regards

Rajiv

122. Ali (unregistered) December 29th, 2007 12:43 am

@ Doctor, IKNOWU i have a question for you.

Just answer me who is the biggest beneficiary from the deaths of Liaquat Ali Khan Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto and Benazir ?

Now only Karachi and sindh are burning what happening in punjab is not even 10 % of what happened in karachi.

So the finger points towards only one direction and when we said that you but blame of ethnicity on us.

kindly answer my question.

123. 55 (unregistered) December 29th, 2007 2:41 am

Something to give us hope: please watch the following interview, which is an excellent analysis by Aijaz Ahmad. His main point is that ‘The democracy movement did not start with Bhutto and will not end with her death’:

http://www.therealnews.com/web/index.php?thisdataswitch=0&thisid=744&thisview=item

124. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 29th, 2007 2:48 am

@Ali if 90% of Karachi and sindh is burning then its not punjab’s fault.. why blame punjab or any one else, we’re our self responsible for this mess.. political parties involved in spreading ethnic hatred should be dealt with sternly be it from any province..

125. d0ct0r (unregistered) December 29th, 2007 3:41 am

700+ cars were burnt in karachi alone.. you’d blame punjab for that?

126. wasiq (unregistered) December 29th, 2007 4:51 pm

@Balma

i sorry balma if you have any problem with the use of *d* combined with *r* to make the sound of ray with a toay *rd* it is read with more stress on the r and not on the d just like we say daal with the toay is read ddal the bombay style would be dhal and in your case lardki(larki or laRki) would be ladhki and in a sentence
    balma khidhki sey ladhki to dekhta hai aur hum khirdki sey lardki ko…..

ii,hum toh *dalda* khatey hain bhaiyaa….aap kya daaldaa khatey ho….?

127. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) December 29th, 2007 5:26 pm

@D0C & MB -

what will never come to media or may never be reported locally is that - WHOLE of SINDH is against punjab now -

wailing - leaders of SINDH are murdered by punjab, it is an alarming sign

now the loser NS is in nodero for condolence, not very long ago he was the one who raised the slogan JAG PUNJABI JAG - -

right from rahim yar khan to rato dero & Nowshero feroz hate for punjab is visible., let us pray and elevate ourselves from regionalism, from ethinicty, from cast,

- we who can read & write shall work together to come out of turmoil and try to hold the affairs away from dark, which is right now spreading fast

128. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) December 29th, 2007 5:50 pm

Karachi affairs - it is PPI, Pathan & Sindhi youth, with opportunist locals taking the advantage.

Rangers engagged a mob of pathan youth at banaras chowk 11.35 this morning had gunbattle and when G3s started coughing up in spray peace prevailed.

Banaras Chowk, is entry of Orangi Town which is 100% urdu speaking east pakistan migrants. whats is catch of PPP or SINDHIs out there - it is ANP & PPI.

129. wasiq (unregistered) December 30th, 2007 2:14 am

if i had a starbuck in the town what would they have done with it tonight…..thankGod i don’t…!btw if you guys really wants to know how bad it is here …the russian girls are not taking my call….and their chat room is also closed check for yourself….

what can i do to make you love me
    what can i do to make you mine

130. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) December 30th, 2007 11:34 pm

Wasiq u seems high !

131. wasiq (unregistered) December 31st, 2007 10:25 am

for three days her majesty’s bread did not reach jamshed town,the price of eggs went above the dollar per dozen and the colorful lights of the revolving resturant are off….this is how we were for three days…win or lose you decide.

@jamal shamsi

Ok.it must be the local sweet bread i’ve been eating…

132. sameer (unregistered) January 2nd, 2008 1:27 pm

Happy new year everyone. May the next year bring blessings to you all down in Pakistan. May this be the year you all learn to live together in peace and harmony. And stop destroying your own land. Inshallah.

133. sameer (unregistered) January 2nd, 2008 1:27 pm

Happy new year everyone. May the next year bring blessings to you all down in Pakistan. May this be the year you all learn to live together in peace and harmony. And stop destroying your own land. Inshallah.

134. sameer (unregistered) January 2nd, 2008 1:28 pm

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2008 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.