Elections 2008 - Rigging Inc.

Elections 2008 Pakistan,Karachi. An ordinary citizen shares his experience of elections 2008. I present you the story as it was emailed to me. This in no ways means others parties are angels. I would love to hear other honest accounts of incidents. Please feel free to put your story in KMB suggest story section.

Guest post by Ameer Hamza
Click HERE & HERE for other similar storieshttp://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2008/02/febmb/Photograph%203%20-%20edit-thumb.jpg

[ General Elections 2008 are now closed for polling. Soon, we will have the results and the usual violence which follows such announcements. And everyone is sure that the elections would be massively rigged in favor of the King's parties.

To see for myself the rigging process I went out today with my friend, another KMB reader. First, we went to Gulshan-e-Iqbal NA-251 and PA-161 and later to PECHS. At both these places I could see lot of MQM men voting again and again. I wondered, wow how easily did they do it so openly?

I wanted the same adventure . . . & i got one

The Background:- http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2008/02/febmb/Photograph%201-thumb.jpg

One method is simple and maybe a bit legal. One person from the home carries all the ID cards of his family members, uncles and aunties and votes for each of them. So in a way lot of people sit at home and vote through a proxy. And no one really objects. There is another method to vote, one which we call rigging. Here, various votes are cast of those citizens who are unlikely to appear. That is done in two major steps. Both I saw today.

One, where a vote is given to various political men and women to cast of people who are not here at the station. For example, I am not likely to go so someone else will vote. Second method is to wait and see. That's done till 4 pm. After that, the entire list is checked. And the votes are cast of all those people who were absent. This is a safer method as compared to the first. As the time for polling is 5 pm.

I am sure the turnout wasn't even 10 %. So you can imagine the level of rigging that would take place now and that would take place while counting. For my vote, I wasted one (Photograph 1) and voted for a rickshaw (Photograph 2). As for my real vote, I am not a registered citizen. So I voted on another ID (Photograph 3)

The Story
http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2008/02/febmb/Photograph%202-thumb.jpg

I was horrified to note that the man behind the counter, obviously a MQM sympathizer, informed me that I didn't exist. Well, I have been here for last 26 years and I was negatively amused to hear that. So I told him that I mean business by which I mean voting. He sent me to another tent where more this party men were seated. And a place where I was supposed to cast my vote.

That man wasn't impressed when I told him that my area designated number was 701 and that it was the number marked on the area map, which was in the tent of bhai log. He asked me to be patient. And meanwhile he flipped and flapped his files.

Sorry sir, no ID matches your, he told me matter-of-fact. Too bad. I told him that I was here to vote and won't go away without doing so. So he gave me the number of a girl whom I called. And she told me that I must go to the meritorious school and meet someone there.

I went inside and told the man. He told me that his name is Kashif, that I can return to the tent and name him and that I will get my katchi parchi, a term invented by Rigging committee of MQM on 18th Feb, 2008, which indicates that you may vote even if you don't exist. Election Commission of Pakistan may go to hell like other politicians.

I went, told the man that Kashif bhai has sent me. He promptly disappeared behind the gates, returned soon, was sweating and handed over my ID card to someone more senior (and presumably an expert). That man, whose name I wasn't told, opened his register in broad daylight, wrote down the ID number of a certain Mr. Umer Farooq (may ALLAH grant him life and property) with an ID number: 51778504817. I was asked to show only this magical parchi and not to show my ID card at the voting counter number 1.

I went inside the Meritorious school once again, asked my friend Raja to ready his camera, and told the friend of Kashif bhai to allot me the place in the hall of the shameful. The rigging had begun. May ALLAH help us in future elections!

I cast my vote in the name of ALLAH and in the card of Mr. Umer Farooq with such confidence that even the man behind the table was impressed. And with camera clicking at my every move, voting came out pretty well.

I, A. Hamza, honorable citizen of Pakistan (one who does not exist in the records of Election Commission of Pakistan), was voting openly in the name of some other individual who had by design not bothered to appear under the scorching sun.

Maybe I am allowed some emotions here. I did all this to prove how easy its in Pakistan, that too in Karachi in broad day light in 21st century, to do an adventure known as rigging. ]

75 Comments so far

1. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 8:51 pm

Gang Rape of Democarcy = Election 2008

We NEED MARTIAL LAW -

2. Zovc (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 9:02 pm

Im not suprised! your like the 50th person telling me a his personal rigging account.

3. MB (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 9:11 pm

MARTIAL LAW means another MILITARY take over which means another drama by the men in wardi , another bag of promises and another horse trading and another PML ( Pakistan Military League) gang and another slogan drama for next 10 years ( BASIC democracy with AYUB, ISLAM with ZIA and enlightenment with MUSH) and it means billions dollars pouring into wardi and pockets and then another NRO and another DEAL

and so the circus goes on. . .
    You are calling the evil for help . .

4. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 9:17 pm

These all things have been happening over the years and it is not some thing new. It is just now we have free media and internet that could expose such things. Thanks to Mush for free Media. Go MQM, we urdu speaking Muhajir need you.

5. kashif (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 9:29 pm

Mb what u are accounting for is MQM, i personally know people in lyari and ranchor line(aka ppp areas) who have voted 7 to 8 times without even having an id card and being underage too…

So my question to Mr. MB is why are you generalizing it and blaming to MQM ?

n yea this is not the first time ppl are voting in pakistan ..this is what has happened before .

6. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 9:32 pm

MB - am sure you know ‘DILEMMA’ of country.

Like i have been saying for a while. am for those who work for country. which starts right from light on the street outside my home, to the expulsion of police station from a govt primary school.

The one who was asking votes this time is a known resident face of area., but he was from mafia and i detest them for diversion of their basic idealogy., BUT i voted for him why because days ahead the local bodies election will happen if he FAILS to deliver to neighborhood he cannot ask for support of his party candidate for Nazim -

smart of me isn’t it — ( am sad from inside )

besides if you personally ask me chosing between EVIL of politicians & Evil of Khaki - - My choice will be Khaki, least they have some discipline in them.

7. AH (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 9:35 pm

Thanks for exposing this travesty. It is tempting to say that MQM is leading this rigging, which in Karachi they are. However, this rigging is also happening across the country, and being led by other parties.

Pakistan has never had free and fair elections, during the reign of any party. However, the military is not an answer since it stunts the democratic process and the nation never gets a chance to grow up.

Oh and one last thing, Obi Wan Kenobi the force is definitely not with you. In fact, your idiotic logic even scared the dark side away.

8. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 9:45 pm

@AH, you live in fool’s galaxy. Most of these so called educated bloggers do not understand the harsh realities of life. I simply want local people to win in every area of Pakistan so that they could work for their "own" people and one day they all could ask more independence from federation. The senate simply can’t resolve any thing, did not we see that in the far far galaxy.

9. HITMAN (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 9:58 pm

Just overheard some MQM guys here @ the local paan wala abt their adventures of casting multiple votes, & how the workers of MQM @ the PS (North Nazimabad Block L’s where I voted earlier) marked several ballot papers after 4 PM. One of them said " Its just a formality, jeetna to muttahida nay hi hay yahan say".

10. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 10:03 pm

So many people and my friends in old mohalla told me that their votes were already cast in their absence so its not surprising specially when Mush’s il(legal) mouthpiece Malik Qayum also admitted it on a phone call.

11. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 10:04 pm

OBIWANKENOBI — thats what my ideology is, locals shall be leading not the waja maja teeja, salu, karmu, danu etc etc.

It was rightly put up the PPP person on GEO ELECTION program that they also wish empowerment to public but on ideology of Late ZA Bhutt not of other parties which are not NATIONAL parties but off shoot of Martial law - he stoned 2 birds with one stone under that statment.

I can hear bike roars out on street as well as trucks ladedn with hooters with songs… Allah Be Praised

12. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 10:10 pm

Ameer Hamza Sahab was able to take snaps of all activitiies easily which shows security flaw in poling booth. Should not be surprising if people got injured in PIB Colony and other areas.

I simply want local people to win in every area of Pakistan so that they could work for their "own" people and one day they all could ask more independence from federation.

No difference between Pakistani expats and politicians. Both don’t dare to spend time with common Pakistanis but have habit to give lecture of patriotism to fellows living back in homeland and when someone asks them to come back to home and serve then they stat giving infinite excuses to justify their stay back in Farangi land. I think Hypocrisy is the best policy.

13. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 10:17 pm

Jamal , these "National" party thing is crap. There are so many different languages and cultures in Pakistan that we simply can’t have two nation wide parties. I lived in Karachi for 23 years and can’t speak any thing other than Urdu. Why would I vote for Sindhis’s PPP and Punajabies’s PML. It does not make sense. And don’t forget Dec 27th when Pathans were all over the urdu speaking in our own city. MQM showed great maturity by not responding on that.I accept that MQM had made mistakes in past but I am sure that their new generation of leaders would be much better so we have to keep supporting them.

14. ali reza (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 10:19 pm

I can bet that if mqm loses you ppl will say that its the fair most elections and if they win you will call it rigging.
    stop hating urdu speaking and their representation

15. MB (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 10:30 pm

@KASHIF
    Dear brother, Bring me stories from any corner of the city, its my promise i will put it here with due credits to you.

Only for you i have changed the starting lines of the post. I hope your concern is addressed.

16. MK (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 10:55 pm

I fear for the life of the reporter and his friend. If you tke my advice please go in hiding for the next 5 or so years or the MQM thugs WILL almost certainly hunt you down and may want to hurt you. These MQM thugs can be very dangerous yar. I hope you have not mentioned your real name or they WILL find you and harm you.

17. zee (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 11:32 pm

And in mardan ANP bought votes for RS. 1000 :)

18. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 11:33 pm

OBI - why you speak language the what you speak now, in daily life ? why don you speak urdu there as well ? - Dude YOU are defying the BASIC ideology of Partition of United India SIR SYED AHMED KHAN (Rehmat Ullah Alayh) The founder of Ali Garh University ASKED MUSLIMS of Undivided India to educate and empower themselves with ENGLISH to FIGHT the Atrocities of ANGREZ -

OBI come outta shell, accept the reality, - who you would be VOTING for IF you are in San Francisco - USA, ( correct me if i’m wrong ) :) No presidential candidate speak URDU - or in favor of Islam - - YOUR CALL

19. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 11:43 pm

so far the trend is interesting and disturbing for Musharraf. The current trend indicating that pro-Musharraf parties are not gaining much seats in entire country. PPP and PML(N) everywhere. If this goes true then Musharraf will have to make arrangement to get settled in Turkey where his Imam Mustafa Ataturk has been resting in "peace".

No presidential candidate speak URDU - or in favor of Islam -

yeah, even Barack Hussein Obama.

20. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on February 18th, 2008 @ 11:50 pm

Jamal, please don’t play with the words, the point was simple and clear that I would vote for the person who would understand my problems. I am all for local government.If you think that some land lord from interior Sindh would understand the problem of Karachiites then you are naive.Most of the MQM candidates live in our neighborhoods and they at least know the problems we face every day and they are approachable.

21. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:02 am

OBI READ THIS AGAIN —

"Like i have been saying for a while. am for those who work for country. which starts right from light on the street outside my home, to the expulsion of police station from a govt primary school.

The one who was asking votes this time is a known resident face of area., but he was from mafia and i detest them for diversion of their basic idealogy., BUT i voted for him why because days ahead the local bodies election will happen if he FAILS to deliver to neighborhood he cannot ask for support of his party candidate for Nazim -"

This clearly says who WE shall vote for. at National Level.

Understand it this way while Living in Sheikhupora being Urdu speaking, Abdullah Jabalpuri cannot vote for Ali Mohammed Shah OBI READ THIS AGAIN —

"Like i have been saying for a while. am for those who work for country. which starts right from light on the street outside my home, to the expulsion of police station from a govt primary school.

The one who was asking votes this time is a known resident face of area., but he was from mafia and i detest them for diversion of their basic idealogy., BUT i voted for him why because days ahead the local bodies election will happen if he FAILS to deliver to neighborhood he cannot ask for support of his party candidate for Nazim -"

This clearly says who WE shall vote for. at National Level.

Understand it this way while Living in Sheikhupora being Urdu speaking, Abdullah Jabalpuri cannot vote for Ali Mohammed Shah <– a sindhi by origin & part of MQM - Abdullah Jabalpuri must choose the person in Shaikhupora who he can approach,

be wise and read carefully please

22. Reality_Check (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:17 am

JAMAL SHAMSI - Sorry to contradict you. It was never the intention of sir Syed to enter into any confrontation with Angrez. He was only interested in re-training the Muslim elite / Shurafaa of UP to enter the job market after the abolishment of Persian as the official language. the loyal British subjects were in danger of loosing their hold on the officialdom.

The following article will be an interesting read;

http://www.sacw.net/2002/HamzaAlaviNov02.html

23. A (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:18 am

Complaints and more complaints..

24. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:31 am

Reality that need another new topic to discuss.

Let US be HERE :) on topic please.

VOTE where you live for those who you recognize and accessible even when they are not in power., Vote for a LOCAL of LOCALITY !

25. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:36 am

Jamal, my friend MQM is not a mafia and was never supposed to, this is the way things work in Pakistan. If you have a problem with that then please join MQM as a worker and try to play your role. I never cry for problems when I can not be a part of solution.

26. zs (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:50 am

Chaudry Shujaat Hussain losing to PML-N. Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed loses both seats in Pindi. Maybe widespread rigging is only isolated to Karachi this time.

27. Anonymous (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:54 am

Well, you are lucky that at least they advised to don’t show your ID card…. my experience is entirely different… the polling staff was too much cooperative , they helped in order to stamp and fold … environment was too friendly therefore they didn’t think to create separate and closed room for stamping (by the way you were just supposed to handover you ballot paper to that guy and he will return back after stamping and proper folding)

28. Reality_Check (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 1:09 am

RIGGING - the question is can you have an election in Pakistan without one from of rigging or another? The answere is No! From cities to the interior every where you go you will see some very amusing examples. Everybody does it, without exception, but the overall impact should remain within reasonable proportion.

Does rigging in other parts of the developing world? Yes it does. Should we abandon the electoral process? No we shouldnt, because thats the only way forwar, and every time we go through this process we learn and move ahead.

29. Ali K (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 1:31 am

Soooo…in the results so far, PPP and PML-N seem to be winning so far…so what happened to all the rigging ?

I mean, if MQM and PML-Q were doing wide-spread rigging, dont you think that Pervaiz Elahi and Ch. Shujjat would have won ?

c’mon guys….

30. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 1:48 am

the urdu speaking in our own city.

27 Dec was not different than 12th May. How can we blame Pathans when our own so called sons of Karachi had hijacked the entire city? and why to tell pathans only that Karachi is "our"[Mohajirs] city? why not to send same message to punjab domicile holders too who are being fed here as well? why not balochs and afghans too?

31. Kashif (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 2:09 am

Rigging is a national phenomenon.

32. Reality_Check (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 2:24 am

JAMAL_SHAMSI agreed, since you made a reference,anyways, despite the best efforts of the winers, the elections have happened in a peaceful manner and the people have spoken and their voice does matter. Forgive me but "Luch talney waley Luch taltey rahein gein" they now have a party too.

People have done their job, now the ball is again in the court of politicians, I cant say about the future but for now this nation has taken a step in the right direction.

33. Ameer Hamza (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 2:45 am

Although I agree that MQM people are approachable and there is ample opportunity for everyone of us to talk to them. But can you ask MQM the following questions:

1) Why can’t any Karachi walla critise Altaf Bhai, Pir of London?

2) Why were Altaf photographs placed all over the place instead of the candidates fielding their seats?

3) Why is every Karachi walla so afraid of MQM?

4) Why do these MQM goans have to collect batha from my shops in order to run their election campaigns?

5) Why the hell did their nazim and naib-nazims cut hundreds of trees in PECHS, Gulshan, Shahra-e-Faisal and North Nazimabad?

Any probably answers?

34. AH (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 2:56 am

Obiwan: So then you do not believe in the nation of Pakistan?

35. stabani (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 3:07 am

Heres a sad reality for all those who hate the MQM:

The Truth Is: PML-Q Rigs, ANP Rigs, PPP Rigs (and Rigged before), and so does the PML-N

If you believe in true democracy, you would learn to make that distinction rather then blatantly attack one party.

ps: Not a MQM Supporter.

36. Reality_Check (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 4:33 am

Gentleman in the context of Pakistan, the key is that the election should be fair despite the Rigging. in other words everybody should get a fair opportunity to rig.

However, this time round, the result from every polling station was duly signed by all polling agents and a copy provided, any chance of mysterious manipulation was eliminated. Good job by Election Commission.

Now the ball is in the court of the politicians to build on their respective positions and take this country forward instead of taking two steps back. People have done their job.

To the Nay Nay Nay sayers, get a life dudes.

AMIR HAMZA please update your research and revise your Quetionaire. Not only that MQM has won, it has also added significantly to its vote bank and has been able to diversify it viz a viz Karachi, it has made major inroads in other communities, just look at polling results from Manzoor Colony.

37. AMMAR (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 4:36 am

Well well, great post Ameer Hamza. what a pity that some of the guys have born hatred with MQM. Hello Ameer Hamza, if MQM was doing what you are mentioning, do you think that you would be able to capture and bring that here. Come on guys, itna jhoot bolo jo akal mai a sake, itna na bolo jo sirf jhoot hee lage. Shame on you Ameer Hamza on your biased Jamati and lunatic nature and approach.

38. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 4:56 am

Ameer Hamza, you are very jazbati angry young man. I know tens of thousands of people in Khi who depsise and critizie MQM. What about JI ? They love to hate MQM and still live in Karachi. They have not elft the city, right ? Regarding why Altaf Hussain pic all over the Karachi then it is the way politics work. May be some refresher course in realties of world would help you. Why were trees cut down ? Because they were needed to be cut down to make life easier for us. There must have been reasons to cut those trees. It did not happen one day Nazim woke up and asked to cut all those trees. Regarding bhatta, I have not experienced this but I know this exist and I am sure with the passage of time and introduction of more education and free media, this culture would be gone and don’t forget that this bhatta is only taken by MQM. Every party takes it in Pakistan where it has hold, once again, wake up and smell the coffee.

39. balma (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 5:36 am

Where is Manzoor Colony, guys?

40. SELF (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 5:44 am

Problem with MQM is they over do it and even when they don’t need to do any wrong they still do it for good measure. So far no other party has been blamed for such blatant rigging as MQM. MQM should try to not earn bad name all the time.

ايم کيو ايم کی ‘عوامی طاقت’ اور ‘نظم و ضبط’ کا پولنگ اسٹيشن پر مشاہدہ کرتے ہوئے شديد مايوسی اور جھنجھلاہٹ کا سامنا کرنا پڑا جب انکے کارکن بيلٹ پيپر پر مہر ثبت کرنے کے دوران ميرے پاس آ کھڑے ہوئے۔ پورا پولنگ بوتھ ايم کيو ايم کا دفتر بنا ہوا تھا۔ انکے بيسيوں کارکن پولنگ مرکز پر گشت کر رہے تھے اور پولنگ کرانے والے عملے اور نہ ہی پوليس اور رينجرز نے انھيں ہٹانے کی کوشش کي۔ ايک حضرت سے مہر ثبت کرنے کے دوران بيلٹ پيپر چھين کر ايم کيو ايم کے کارکن نے روانہ کيا جبکہ مجھ سميت زيادہ تر ووٹرز کے ووٹ جھپٹ جھپٹ کر بيلٹ بکس ميں ڈالتے رہے۔ ايسے ڈھونگ اليکشن پر لعنت ہو جو جمہوريت کے نام پر دھبہ اور مہذب لوگوں کی شرمندگی کا باعث بنيں کہ انہوں نے ووٹ کيوں ديا۔

عارف، ماڈل کالونی کراچی

41. SELF (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 5:49 am

MMA also active in rigging

بنوں اور حصوصا قريبی ايف آر بنوں ميں ايم ايم اے نے نہاد طالبان کے ذريعے بوگس وٹوں کي بھر مارکر دی ہے۔ پولنگ عملے کو راتوں رات يرغمال بنا کر پولنگ بکسوں کواپنی مرضی کے اميدواروں کے حق ميں بھر ديا گيا ہے۔

Bashir، Bannu

42. SELF (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 5:51 am

Molvis rigging elections by issuing fatwa e kufr. Can’t believe some people still fall for that.

ہم این اے 15 کرک صوبہ سرحد میں ہیں اور اس کے ساتھ ساتھ پی ایف 40 بھی ہمارا حلقہ ہے۔ پچھلے سال ان دونوں حلقوں سے ایم ایم اے جیتی تھی۔ اس دفعہ تمام کے تمام لوگوں نے مولویوں سے سخت نفرت کا اظہا ر کیا ہے۔ اب صورت احوال یہ ہے کہ مولویوں نے ہر نماز، جمعہ کی نماز، اور جنازوں تک میں لوگوں سے کہنا شروع کر دیا ہے کہ جس نے کتاب کو ووٹ نہیں دیا وہ کافر ہوگا اور مختلف فتوے لگانا شروع کر دیئے ہیں جن کی وجہ سے لوگ بہت پر یشان ہیں۔ سمجھ نہیں آتی کہ ان حالات میں ہمیں کیا کرنا چاہئے۔

Haider Shah، Gurguri(karak) NWFP

43. Reality_Check (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 9:28 am

SELF dont talk of balatant rigging,dont you know what happens in polling stations of layari, Thana Bullah Khan and for that matter Bhakar. Its the same all over the place, where a party has overwhelming majority. Its just that JI and PTI internet hogs have made MQM a target and are all to eager to blow things out of proportion. The fact is that MQM has bounced back and won back hearts of its voters, simply on the basis of their performance, to that I’ll say Bravo!!

As for the Moulvi’s I’d say good riddance, they got their share in electoral lime light thanks to 9/11 and subsequent anti American sentiment. This shows that winning an election on a single issue is one thing and running a govt is another, which requires another set of skills, they were found extremely lacking in that department. Hope the good old days return when people used to go to to Mosques on Fridays listen to the Molvi and forget what he said on their way back.

44. alam (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 11:34 am

from his name "Ameer Hamza" he sounds like MMA suicide trainee

45. IUnknown (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 11:51 am

it seems kay her jagah riggin hui hay
    .. i think elections have started 2 days earlier than official date warna jitnay vote ppp or mqm ko milay hain like 1,83,000 and 50,000 etc, woh aik din main ho nahi saktay as most of ppl stayed at home yesterday

46. MB (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:02 pm

lolz
    Oh come on guys, we might be hating MQM for different reasons but the truth is with or without rigging they have to win. Its just that when they rig, beside winning they will get some harsh statements from us.

@ALAM
    "from his name "Ameer Hamza" he sounds like MMA suicide trainee "

Brother as i had replied in detail to you guys here (near end of page, in BOLD text)
    http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/2008/02/imran_khan_barr.phtml

I see no difference between your conservative mind and those of the MMAs. There is no evil in MMA that is not in you.

I had mentioned there and i repeat, all you guys resort to in the end is getting personal, throwing mud on names, NICKs & making fun of others.

Grow up!!

47. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:08 pm

@ Reality - The person IS STILL PART of Drug Mafia and since 2000 he join MQM, - and thats where MQM diverted from Ideology.

WE HELP OUR UC NAZIM, whatever way WE CAN but signing allegiance and becoming worker, NO SIR, Thank you

48. IUnknown (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:09 pm

@mb aqal mand ho gia hay :)

49. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:09 pm

Alam, Ironically your own name is an Arabic term. I wonder whether you ever protest your family to change your name?

50. IUnknown (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:46 pm

@adnan: is this a mistake?
    why r u wasting ur time talking to him. He is always ignored every where thats why he posts comments like that so that ppl talk to him.

If u read this comment, it was totally out of context here.

ainda aisi ghalti maaf na ki ja sakay gee (shayed

51. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 2:31 pm

TAa -KING - as in Talking ! :)

Adnan who won in north nazimabad BOTH FARHAT & ALI MOHAMMED SHAH ! or some Ganj Pahar ANP dude . ?

52. insaaf (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 4:24 pm

sirf raaj karay ga mohajir!
    MQM jesi bhi ha Hamari ha hamara jeena marna sub MQM k saath ha!
    Paththaan batainge abi subko mazeed phir pata chalayga k MQM kyn zarori ha

53. SELF (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 5:18 pm

MQM hasn’t won any seat outside Sindh. It might be difficult to have an MQM PM in 2013 as MQM envisages. MQM needs to rethink their strategy.

54. IUnknown (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 6:03 pm

suna hay pathanon kay khilaif operation hoga shorab goth per, if mqm comes in again?

ALLAH khair karey

karachi main phir khud-kush hamlay shroo jaingay,
    means pooray mulk main ho jaingay.

Pakistan on verge of disaster!!!

1992 operation is much needed again against Mamooli Qeeray Makoras

55. Balma (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 8:54 pm

IUKNOWN:

Please learn the difference between Q and K when transliterating Urdu or Arabic. Keeray (pest) is with K, Quran is with Q. Do you see this, or is it like Hyderabadis ignorance of difference between Q and Kh? :-)

56. Ameer Hamza (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 10:13 pm

I am neither a Jamatia nor a Suicide trainee. Both these statements are out of question as my firqah (interpration of Islam) is different from the Jamat-e-Islami.

As for my name Ameer Hamza, someone commented that it reads like a suicide bomber. Well, it is the name of the Uncle of our lovely Prophet Muhammad (salahu alihi wasalam). Therefore, any comments on name rather than on the nature of ideology is bound to be regarded as a dis-respect to our Prophet and his uncle.

Don’t do what kafirs have been trying for long. Stick to the topic, kindly.

Regards,
    Ameer Hamza
    Admin KPC

http://www.flickr.com/groups/karachiphotographers/

57. IUnknown (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 10:18 pm

i had no choice but to use Q instead of K. I knew the difference :)

BTW, im not from hyderabad. I am from beautifull vallies of kashmir

58. SELF (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 11:23 pm

"beautifull vallies of kashmir"

jihadi or ex-jihadi :)

59. Balma (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 11:25 pm

I didn’t mean that Hyderabadis confuse between Q and K. They confuse between Q and ‘Kh’ sound.
    So…, how are the babes in Kashmir these days?

60. Balma (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 11:30 pm

Well, guys, has anyone else noticed or I am the only person gloating that maha-loTaa Abida Hussain lost. What a fucking loTaa, or luTyaa or whatever fuck. she should be made to work for living now. Enough of having fun at the expense of poor kisaans.

61. SELF (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 11:53 pm

What you are forgetting is her opponent faisal saleh hyyat stole 16 million dollars…

I guess that’s small change for you. :)

PPP guys and gals like to steal and steal hard…

62. Balma (unregistered) on February 20th, 2008 @ 12:31 am

OK, Self, I know what you are saying. This khadim or makhdoom is her relative anyway (according to a recent WSJ article)….And he is himself a lota I believe…. OK, next time this loTaa will be defeated….As uncle Zia once said when I was a kid - yaha’n tou aavay kaa aavaa bigRaa hua hae!

63. AMMAR (unregistered) on February 20th, 2008 @ 8:18 am

Okay Ameer Hamza you take advantage of the name. Fine and fair enough, but do you know what you are doing actually. Does it not apply to you as well. How can you lie so much with having such a good name. Shame on you, better you should repent.

64. Shoaib (unregistered) on February 20th, 2008 @ 9:29 am

@KASHIF
    My brother, even if you know a 160 million people who casted bogus votes and thousands of parties who does the same, does not make the whole exercise right?? TWO WRONGS DONT MAKE A RIGHT!!
    Stop defending it!!

65. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 20th, 2008 @ 1:59 pm

am in deep regret - i wish i have not wasted my time in attending school and classes and later life in struggle for what I’m today.

Had I been part & parcel of some "mafia" am sure there would be a "BETTER" status and fleet of vehicles, Plenty of cash flow with no questions asked……..One LEGAL wife and family and LOTS of beauties at my disposal anytime of day….. AH I wish……… Ahhhh I wish,…..I SHALL Born again as PAKISTANI politician of a main Stream PARTY at my reincarnation,
    - - -

lahowala quwat illa billah… Ya Allah Thank you for what I’m today and what you hold for me ahead is the only best thing you can grant me, Allah Tayra Shukar hai Tou sirf apna mohtaj rakhna.. Ameen

66. Paquistan (unregistered) on February 20th, 2008 @ 6:05 pm

this thread is so full of hatred it seems funny.

67. uzair hussain (unregistered) on February 20th, 2008 @ 9:30 pm

rigging was done in karachi .. lol.. i have questions over his sanity .. how may polling stations did he visited by the way … only those from where mqm have been winning for a long time …
    i dont understand when he said that the karachites should vote sensibily ..
    where were the parties on the 3 horrible days when karachi was set on fire by the non-residents.. my boy it was mqm who was there who showed maturity to the level that no one could have imagined….
    mirza ikhtiyar baig was carrying armed guard on the day polling was conducted.. its against the guidelines delivered by the election comission ..
    i dont c the reason of u holding strong opinions only for largest political force for urban sindh …
    it was the 1st time that i ,along with my parents voted and alhumdulliah for mqm .. and so did hundreds and thousands more.. not just caus i speak urdu but caus of the pretty evident work that has been going on for the past 2 years by mustufa kamal … i salute him and advice you to kindly remain unbiased in your articles ..we should be focusing on issues to improve the current adverse situations in the country rather than blaming eachother for their deeds…that is soo much to write about the late shaheed benair bhutto ..soo much bout ASIF ali zardari the mr.10 % and the bhaga howa shair of punjab nawaz shareef lol… grow up dude grow up ..

68. Mir (unregistered) on February 21st, 2008 @ 7:27 am

Hey guys,

Woww….. hoter debate has been waged. I would like to speak with those who support MQM. By and large, MQM is not a political party, right? It is an ethnic party and the proof is right before us as what happened in 18 Feb. elections. The ethnic party could not take seats other than from Karachi and few from Hyderabad. In contrary to the latest elections, if we look back at 2002 elections, the same ethnic party was seen even in Azad Kashmir and in interior Sindh, Hyderabad and Sukkur. I can’t understand such a massive and disreputable mess faced by the party in 2008 elections? Wowww….. OMG…. it couldn’t take even a single seat from Sukkur and interior Sindh. Itni zillat??? Their chief is being called as BHAI OF KARACHI. Well, BHAI OF KARACHI bhai i would like to convey to you and your thugs congratulations from the bottom of my heart for such a massive victory you could not get across Pakistan. ;) Wish you all the best. TA TA.

69. Nizro (unregistered) on February 21st, 2008 @ 8:12 pm

@Hamza.

Hamza can u plz testify against these people who were rigging in the court. Because these MQM guys have won a few seat too many from Khi, which they shouldn’t have.

70. Sara (unregistered) on February 22nd, 2008 @ 5:08 am

This is so stupid.How can u say it’s MQM?It can be PPP or any other party.Stop blaming everything on MQM.

71. Nedved (unregistered) on February 27th, 2008 @ 2:27 am

I think MQM,s politics is based on only one thing, HATRED. Problems of common people in pakistan are the same…be it punjab, sind, karachi, balochistan, phuktuankwa or anywhere but MQM spreads hatred by blaming other communities. In reality all communities and all common people living in pakistan are faced with same problems.I hope people understand what i am saying.

I myself belong to a urdu speaking community. We are the most educated people in pakistan n we should understand this.

72. Furqan Sheikh (unregistered) on February 28th, 2008 @ 2:42 pm

This is all rubbish, we pakistanis are always ready to blame the govt of pakistan for rigging

why u people do that?

get like u idiots, this election was rigged then ppp and pml n wouldnt come to power

73. Furqan Sheikh (unregistered) on February 28th, 2008 @ 2:44 pm

This is all rubbish, we pakistanis are always ready to blame the govt of pakistan for rigging

why u people do that?

get life u idiots, this election was rigged then ppp and pml n wouldn’t come to power

74. ALi (unregistered) on February 28th, 2008 @ 11:23 pm

I guess the ballot papers showed in this blog give us the correct idea who was rigging in this city.
    All the ballot papers shown don’t have stamped on KITE symbol that is MQM symbol then how come MQM was rigging ?
    Rikhshaw was not sign of MQM .

So the story of Ameer Hamza flopped big time

And about blamming MQM as ethnic party and blah blah blah, go to ecp.gov.pk see the results of all over the country MQM got 50,000 votes from Pakistan apart from Sindh
    All the propaganda flopped as MQM got 50,000 votes and those who gave votes to MQM are not Mohajirs they are people from all over Pakistan.

Open your eyes Morans people are voting for MQM soon MQM will emerge as the largest party of Pakistan.

GA MQM
    GA ALTAF

75. Ameer Hamza (unregistered) on March 2nd, 2008 @ 11:02 pm

Article showing rigging done by MQM has been published in Friday Times issue (29th Feb, 2008). Written by Ameer Hamza and photographed by Ameer Hamza and Raja Islam.

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2008 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.