Lighter moment

With the silence hoo-hoo’ing in the city on strike today, my moment of relief came with an SMS:

Quaid-e-Azam faut ho chukay hain. Liaquat Ali bhi shaheed ho chukay. Iqbal bhi nahi rahay. Meri tabiyat bhi theek nahi rethi. Pata nahi Pakistan ka kya ho ga?

24 Comments so far

1. yo yo (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 12:35 am

Hey RAMLA…how could this SMS miss the Altaf Hussain the Great.

I protest for not glorifying Altaf Bhai..

JEEYAY MUHAJIR( who ever they are )

2. Jamash( Jay the big J ) (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 1:00 am

Nisaar ayy watan taree galyoon Kay, jahaan
    Chali hai Rassam kah koi na sar Uthaa keh chalay
    Jo chahnay wala Tawaaf ko Niklay
    Nazaar Jhoka key chalay, Gissam -o- Jaan bacha keh chalay
    Hai ahL-e- dill keh leyah aab yeah nazm Baast-o-Kushaad
    Keh sung -o-Khaisht Muqayead hain aur Sugh Aazaad

A portion of Faiz Ahmed Faiz’s poem
    (As I could remember it)
    http://jaythebigj.blogspot.com

3. xia (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 5:25 am

hehe

4. Maaz A. Khan (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 10:26 am

For heavens sake! Don’t try to put Altaf Hussains name here at Karachi blog. This place is just for the Karachiites, not for the rascals sitting in there cozy homes somewhere-in-London.

5. zubair (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 2:32 pm

“hoo-hoo’ing” ??? what cheapness…. i have read such smses long time back.. (yawn)

6. saeed (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 2:59 pm

maaz, zara sambhal key. samjha?

7. Afreen (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 3:54 pm

good one. I guess, not many know the meaning of ‘appreciation’ or an ‘ice-breaker’ here. Le sigh.

8. Ramla A. (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 4:46 pm

LOL. Admirers of He-Who-Shall-Not-Be-Dead: Soch lain! This list is a list of the dead. “Careful what you ask for; you might just get it.”

As for the trolls – carry on.

9. Ramla A. (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 4:50 pm

Blimey. A freudian slip, or what?
    He-who-shall-not-be-NAMED.*

10. Imran (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 6:39 pm

Meri Jaan Pakitan kay liay main hoon….. tum chup chaap jaa kay so jaaaooo…
    OK

11. Akram (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 9:35 pm

Okay – even if I dislike him intensely, Poo Poo Head does contribute to the KHI.Metblog experience. ZUBAIR on the other hand is the complete idiot deserving of our total wrath and insults.

From here on end I apologise to Poo Poo Head (but please change your name back, will you?) and, as the self-appointed Troll-Police of KHI-Metblogs declare war on ZUBAIR.

12. Akram (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 9:41 pm

Okay ZUBAIR, you idiot, why don’t you go watch “V – The Final Battle” in your insane head? I know it’s all in your head because there is no refernce to such a show on TV,com, Google, or Wikipedia. And you say on your blog you love it so much! Most of cannot regularly consturct whole TV serials in our heads. Boy, being insane must be so much fun for you! Not even a Rs.150 cable bill, and the govt. pays your mental hospital fees! Wow!

13. Akram (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 9:45 pm

Meant to say “…Most of us…

14. DarthVader (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 10:00 pm

oh yeah !!! thats all we need here , jahil and coward mqm ghundas threatening other people .

15. Akram (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 10:07 pm

Um, hopefully you’re not refering to me, since I am not a MQM ghunda, but if you’ve been reading posts here regularly you’ll Mr.Zubair has been “threatening” Ramla on every single post no matter what.

16. Akram (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 10:08 pm

Meant to say “…you’ll know that…”

17. Akram (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 10:53 pm

…but if you’ve been reading posts here regularly you’ll know that Mr.Zubair has been “threatening” Ramla on every single post no matter what.

Posted by: Akram at February 18, 2006 10:07 PM
    ================================================

Just as I have been going against Poo Poo Head no matter what he says. That is why I apologise to him, and please accept it.

And please change your name back, whoever tried to steal your identity could also steal Poo Poo Head, you know. Atleast choose something more dignified.

18. rooster (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 11:03 pm

Right onnn Darth. now lets meet up for some “bund kabab” and “botal” at the old watering hole sometime. *wink*

19. anon (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 11:20 pm

Rumours in the city: Abbas Qadri of Sunni Tehrik Killed. Shops closed. Tension prevails.

20. Poo poo Head (unregistered) on February 18th, 2006 @ 11:33 pm

This is the problem of Pakistan, we do not make our institutes strong and just follow names. Bhai Jinnah chalaye gaye to kia hua , Pakistan to day gaye , Ibal bhi apna deewan daikar gaye hain.

Lets assume if Bushharaf dies today , what would happen ? Bibi and Mian jee would be back in first flight available and most of the people would change their faiths on 10 minutes notice. I agree Musharraf has done great but alas he does not make institutes strong, parliament is fake. Read Jamali (ex PM) in today’s Jang that parliamnet show is just for common wealth(he was the PM of same assembly , mind it). When did we get our first constitute ?? in 1973 , atleast Bhutto did one thing good(his opponents will also accept that).

Last day, I was reading a story when Reagan was shot in 1980 and how the people took over him and kept government working.

Regarding Altaf Hussain and MQM , we should accept them, they’ve always got votes so even if we do not agree with their politics, we should listen to them. I remember in late 80’s and early 90’s even if they got the moron as MNA candidate , he’d won by big margin but if you observe the results of last city council election, they just won 65-68% seats so they lost their seats as well as vote bank but if you jsut come up and accuse others, it would not help, we should try to make awareness in people.

Zubair has definitely some thing for Ramla but still we should not threathen him, this is a free media and let him speak what ever he wants as long as he doesnot cross ethics barriers. Might be this burst out is helping him to refrain from suicide, who knows ? let him live alone and I am sure one day he would come up good.

Akarm, I never accused you back because I knew one day you would realise that such things are not healthy. I am happy that you accepted me as a different person and would encourage you to accept Zubair also.

21. Ramla A. (unregistered) on February 19th, 2006 @ 12:03 am

Noman! You’re back! Yes yes even before I saw the sign-off name the *length* gave a hint!

Dead men. Right. Ethics. Er, right.

BTW, on a *slightly* more serious note, I wonder why the ethical imposition today is so designed so that it lets a bad man prevail in the name of (insert your choice of Freedom Type here) and a good person must quietly suffer. No, I am not talking about me. Even portions of the current cartoon controversy would fall under this – there are many sources now that have exceelent debate over this issue so I assume I don’t have to explain what I mean.

And this is where I stop, b/c I know it’s a joke to most of us. It’s not to me – that’s my choice – so *Salama-leikum!*

Akram: thanks for consideration. It did get to me for a while, until I was advised the better alternative by some kind readers. It’s worked. :)

22. yo yo (unregistered) on February 19th, 2006 @ 12:34 am

DANG…I just made a silly joke about Altaf Hussien just to cheer myself and other readers up.

Did not mean any offence to anyone.

But if anyone is ready to pay in Cash. I can glorify them and make them famous.

VISA,MASTERCARD,AMEX and Paypal accepted.

23. Ramla A. (unregistered) on February 19th, 2006 @ 1:37 am

Just in case over-interpretation happens: my comment was about troll comment rights, nothing to do with the thread.

And, I am going to exercise some moderation on this thread.

24. wasiq (unregistered) on February 20th, 2006 @ 12:27 am

DEARLY DISGUSTED WEDDING PLANNERS…..It has been brought to my notice that Qazi sab is under house arrest for the next thirty days ….but he has handed the reigns,his wallet and the ARY calling card to the daughter-inlaw before finally being put under house arrest…..if she managed to hold on to the above mentioned for more than forty-five days she will have my twenty-nine percent co-operation and twenty-two percent support……please don’t waste your time this could be our last chance………