Land Mafia.

Recently I have been involved in one of the weirdest experiences of Karachi life, that being, the negotiation between the occupants in apartments and the actual owner. So here goes the story.

Someone I know is a US national and lives there, but when he comes back after a year or two he usually invests in a property here in Karachi. This time, he found out that there is actually someone living in one of his apartment. The occupants claim to pay the rent, and, quite amazingly the rent goes to, decently ranked – Police Officer. (Let’s not use the actual names here).

Turns out its not only one apartment but there are dozens (apartments, houses, plots, shops etc) maybe hundreds in near about that are being hijacked by the same group; a group openly declaring itself as a ‘Gunda Group’ and that too is connected to a Political Party. And Mr. Police Officer is somewhat group leader and spokesman.

In the end, with the involvement of other better ranked Police Officers and Army Officers they agreed to negotiate and leave. The owner paid more than RS 100K in the deal. The details are too big to write, other options and drawbacks, threats, courts etc. So I will just cut it short here.

10 Comments so far

1. saddened (unregistered) on March 1st, 2006 @ 4:19 am

Wow — could you tell us what apartment buildings these were? Or if not, what area this was in? I feel sorry for all those expatriates living abroad who have bought land when they come to visit Pakistan after a few years and find out someone else has built a house on them. What will happen then?

2. Poo poo Head (unregistered) on March 1st, 2006 @ 9:22 am

What are you afraid of ? Come on, do tell us the name of officer or tell us more details atleast. Do you know you are giving the jerks protection ….

3. Zag (unregistered) on March 1st, 2006 @ 10:49 am

Damn!!! The sucks!! That is the only reason that people I know who want to invest in property but are afraid to, cuz you never know, one fine morning, someone will occupy it….

4. mansoor (unregistered) on March 1st, 2006 @ 11:53 am

Ouch ! dat must hurt ! but the fact that Mr. Police Man was involved is not such a shocking detail, the department is improving, but there will always be undesirable elements within it ! When will the police department start an department internally to deal with such people ? Not only are they ruining the faith of the people, they are also ruining the efforts made by the few good men in the force !

5. xia (unregistered) on March 1st, 2006 @ 1:33 pm

afsos. I am so sad to hear about this. May these culprits and their cohorts who hurt others in such ways burn in hell. ameen.

6. Ali (unregistered) on March 1st, 2006 @ 6:35 pm

jeez the cops r a disgrace n wid icidents like this im sorry 2 say i have lost my faith in the law n the best way 2 protect urself would b 2 go n buy a gun n handle the situation urself

7. Sarwar (unregistered) on March 1st, 2006 @ 7:26 pm

Which area of Karachi is this happening? It could help other expats from getting into the same mess.

8. Kaash (unregistered) on March 1st, 2006 @ 9:26 pm

Good gawd…we were so much tempted to buy a property in Karachi this year..an apartment or a plot…Thanks for sharing…I’d rather invest where we @. Yahi baten aur nainsafioon kay baray main sun kur koi bhi overseas Pakistani wapis apnay mulk main settle hon nahi chahta. That is so unfair that the owner had to pay money to get his own property back.

9. yo yo (unregistered) on March 2nd, 2006 @ 5:52 am

YAWN…thats not new…

10. wasiq (unregistered) on March 3rd, 2006 @ 3:40 am

sunaa hai chaand per Rickshaw chaley gi…
    yeah baat hai toh chalo hum bhi flat khareed kay….

So this is why they say …”Be nice to the people on your way up…you will meet(need) them on your way back”