Update on bomb blast

According to latest news, 3 reknowned religious figures have been pronounced dead in the aftermath of the bomb blast: Mr. Iftikhar Bhatti, Mr. Abbas Qadri and Mr. Haneef Billoo. Angry mobs have been setting up vehicles and petrol pumps on fire all over the city. It is being said that the reaction that started from Saddar has now reached upto National Stadium. On the other side of the city people have been setting vehicles on fire in Malir, Quaidabad etc.
All the government hospitals are over crowded with concerned relatives and blood donors which is making it difficult for the ambulances to reach the ERs. Apparently majority of the rescue work is being done by Edhi foundation and volunteers. MQM has announced a 3 day mourning as a result of this incidents with more strike calls expected from other religious and political parties.
More updates later….

31 Comments so far

1. Inspirex (unregistered) on April 11th, 2006 @ 11:46 pm

Truly tragic.
    Whats worth pondering here is that whenever something goes wrong, this weird mob comes up, burns, loots, plunders and leaves us wondering what they seek to achieve.

2. Author (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 12:00 am

Ohhhh.. is it Strike tomorrow??? I’ve got my paper…

3. Kaash (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 12:04 am

….another sad news. People are already crushed with extortion, unemployment, bribary, wild traffic accidents and on top of it they are getting killed by these horrific bomb blasts….and we thought Iraq & Afghanistan were at war. Allah Karachi waloon pur rahham karay aur unhain apnay hifz-o-Iman main rukhay.. Ameen. Waisaiy y everyone in the west lives so happy? And how come muslims all over the world are living in such a misery? I know its a whole different debate but this is so unfair…
    peace
    Kaash

4. sami shah (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 12:05 am

It’s like some weird specially trained mob. Every time there is a bombing they appear, destroy stuff and then disappear.

I think they are trained by the same people who train the phantom truck drivers who manage to disappear everytime a truck runs over someone.

What pisses me off is how is this even an acceptable rage reaction. Damaging the emergency room of a hospital. How is that anything other than illiterate stupidity.

Oh, and great job combating terrorism Musharraf. The only thing safe in Karachi is your damned motorcade now.

5. sami shah (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 12:07 am

It’s like some weird specially trained mob. Every time there is a bombing they appear, destroy stuff and then disappear.

I think they are trained by the same people who train the phantom truck drivers who manage to disappear everytime a truck runs over someone.

What pisses me off is how is this even an acceptable rage reaction. Damaging the emergency room of a hospital. How is that anything other than illiterate stupidity.

Oh, and great job combating terrorism Musharraf. The only thing safe in Karachi is your damned motorcade now.

6. Fasial Siddiqui (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 12:24 am

There are terrorist who plants bombs and then there are these people who goes around destroying other peoples property, setting cars on fire.
    I saw the pictures of the Fire Truck on FIRE!!!
    and now someone here reported that some people have also destroyed the Emergency Room.
    What the hell is going on? I see no difference b/w the bomb planters and the crazy mob.
    THEY BOTH ARE TERRORIZING THE INNOCENT.

7. IllusionFS (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 12:55 am

i have heard news of ambulances carrying the wounded ppl from the blast being set on fire. not confirmed though.

8. riaz (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 1:01 am

my sympathy goes out to all the loved ones who,s family members have lost there lives in this attrocious attrocities.
    What can one say, me personally I visited karachi a few months ago.

I lived there for three months and even now after being back in the uk for 5 months i still miss the wonderful city. Karachi is quite amazing it,s got everything a beautiful buzz in the evening and all walks of life may allah bless beautiful karachi. KARACI IS SECOND TO NONE.

9. yo yo (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 1:04 am

May Allah give the people who died Jannat and forgive their sins. May Allah give sabar to the family of the people who died.

10. IllusionFS (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 1:14 am
  11. Gibran (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 1:16 am

Burning/destroying more things is not the answer… idiots!!!

12. redsnapper (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 2:01 am

The ones burning and destroying property are not necessarily hooligans. I’ve been there and they are just venting their feelings. A perfect example of what complete helplessness can do. Not the right expression we may argue but helplessness nevertheless.

When everything breaks down and complete apathy from the state, this is bound to happen. Many of those affected by their emotions don’t know anything better.

Finally, it is so easy to manipulate the situation in a mob. Anyone stoking trouble gets the perfect opportunity to do so and blame it on the innocent affectees. For example, the angry young boys would never set fire to an ambulance which is saving the injured.

On another note, why is Karachi the playground for anyone who wants to create trouble. Hats off to the people of Karachi who remain together, keep their spirits afloat under all circumstances.

13. Salman A. (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 3:58 am

Who can do it except the Wahhabis? These people consider all other Muslims to be kafir and mushrik. They also hate Eid Miladun Nabi.
    They themselves could be the one attacking hospitals as well. After all, they know the “injured kafirs” are going there for treatment after the blast.

14. badfriend909 (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 6:12 am

@ Salma.
    I understand your pain for the loss and all the terrible incidents happening, but please don’t pick on a religious group unless you know the truth. This is one of the many teachings by our prophet Muhammad(SA). Please please, to all the blog readers, I incist you all to share your feelings in a neutral manner. I know that its hard to control the feelings and anger towards the people who have done such a horrible thing, but its not alright to be pointing fingers without knowing the truth. Allah saab ko apne amaan mein rakhe, ameen!

15. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 9:12 am

When i was a kid,i was not used to hear terms like Sunni tehrik,Ahl-e-Bayt,ISO etc etc.I see zia failed here to understand that such so called religious parties will be like cancer for Pakistani society.Since such parties are on peak at the moment in city,these parties individual identification has sucked the local society,now you are SUnni tehrik or ISO member first then a muslim.What I got by such identification?What you got by such indentification?for shias,i am an infidel and for sunnis,shias are kafirs.

now its so easy to target the *opnonents*,such find the party name and kill the person.The hadith of Prophet(SAW) has become almost true that there would be 79 sects in Ummah.Let me know when we reach upto #79.

@salman:i am not wahabi but whatever u said here,for me you are a moron and you suck big time.Did Allah ever give you chance to go Saudia?the saudia govt is Wahabi,the managment of Makkah and Madina is Wahabi,so suck yourself dude.Wahabi just dont believe in fatiha darood or visiitng shrines(which i also dont believe either and i am not a wahbi by belief).

Somethiug about Haneef biloo:i am particularly sad for this great man,he has done a lot,alot for piligrims without asking anything in return,may Allah give him highest level of Jannah-Ameen.Hatsoff to you sir,we lost you,another great person left.

no comments about mobs since such ppl are not worthy to be talked about.

soon we might hear news about shia explostion.

16. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 9:14 am

its so funny we celebrate bday of Prophet(SAW) on His death anniversry,pretty ignorant haan?we are so easy to invent terms like “Eidul meladunnabi” though islam never brought such terms at all and we have only 2 Eids in one islamic year

17. Zain (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 10:06 am

Adnan – I laugh at you!!! That is all I have to say about your comment. Grow up buddy; its about the mentality of them and their belief that “whoever kills an opponent will go to heaven”.

18. Kashif (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 11:15 am

@Adnan: Couldn’t agree more. Mr. Billo was the son Karachi will mourn for ages.

http://www.chowrangi.com/bomb-blast-claim-more-than-50-people-karachi-mourns-yet-again.html

19. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 3:08 pm

zain i will not even laugh at you since you were not able to get my point and I know you are lackig to explain whom you are referring to as “THEM” here.

@kashif:what are you trying to say?read again what i posted above?did i say anything against Haneef biloo sahab?I understand you re very emotional at the moment.

20. Zain (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 4:01 pm

Adnan

Them = Wahabis..

21. Jammu (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 5:29 pm

I think there should be one religion in the world
    and that is Regligion of Humanity on which no one
    can differ.

22. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on April 12th, 2006 @ 10:28 pm

@Zain:i used to hear things like shias kafir and now wahbis say sunni kafir?you are preaching some new religion among us.I never heard that wahabis gonna kill anti-wahabis?I used to hear same things for shias by extreemist sunni parties like Sipah sahaba or this sunni tehrik.Whatever you say is baseless,how could you say that some wahbi killed it?Beyta growup and stop talking things like western media do.

23. redsnapper (unregistered) on April 13th, 2006 @ 12:24 am

@ Salman, Adnan, Zain and other friends.

Its all right to differ but getting emotional and pointing fingers does not help.

Deobandi, Wahabi, Barelvi, Ahlesunnat, Shia etc. etc. the list is endless. Each has a bone to pick with other.

Seeing some of the comments, you need to read more on the beliefs, modes of expression, violence or non-violence of each sect or sub-sect.

But it is all right if you don’t. The truth is more important and the truth should be to expose who did it. Arguing with each other will not help getting to the truth.

If you’re bloggers or commentors please play your constructive role and point out things that lead to help finding the truth.

For example, there was a caller on Aaj TV a little while ago (a lady) who said she was at a shopping center in Shah Faisal Colony when boys came in asking everyone to close shops because Mr. Abbas Qadri was murdered. The interesting thing about it ? It happened 20 days ago. Who were those people ? What made them do this ? Who spread that rumour ? What caused it ?

There have been targeted killings or attacks on sunni tehreek before. No one is talking enough about what happened to investigations on that account.

Were there security cameras at Nishter Park ? If yes, where is the recording ?

There is also difference of opinion on whether the blast was through a suicide bomb or under the stage. Most of the eye witnesses interviewed said the flash of light came from under the stage. If it was under the stage, it would reflect on the govt.s security measure. Suicide bombing absolves everyone from blame (in a manner of saying). Is that the situation ? I am not saying it is. But either way, it should be discussed and exposed by media.

Whoever did it, regardless of their religous beliefs, needs to be exposed and punished. Your or anyone else’s opinions on any religous sect is a smaller issue compared to this bigger need.

24. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on April 13th, 2006 @ 10:18 am

I agree but first of all,I am against any secterian party in Pakistan,this secterian parties actually ruining the things which other parties could not do at all,remember these small parties are more dangerous than PPP,MQM or Muslim League as they use *religion* as tool for theor propagation and man is always emotional about belief.Zia khud margaya aur hamaari zindagi azaab banagya.

25. Zain (unregistered) on April 13th, 2006 @ 4:35 pm

Adnan Siddiqui, chalo kahee chaltey hain aur swimming kartey hain……… open invitation to all… beach chaltey hain wahan kuch nahi hoga..

26. Zainub (unregistered) on April 13th, 2006 @ 7:43 pm

Okay, enlighten me some one please. What exactly is a wahabi?

27. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on April 13th, 2006 @ 10:23 pm

@zainab:Wikipedia is your friend.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wahhabism
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wahhabi

waise you may ask Zain too he has a crush on wahabis and know them better than anyone on earth.

28. redsnapper (unregistered) on April 13th, 2006 @ 11:02 pm

@Adnan:

I agree religion should not be used as a tool for politics. Zia … well, by this time scores of books should have been written about how a single person (or institution) can change the face and destroy the intellect of more than a 100 million people !! A feet achieved in 11 years disfiguring the culture and legacy of hundreds of years.

@Zainub:

Defining or discussing a sect or school of thought in religion is contentious. It may start an unnecessary debate on the rights and wrongs of a certain school of thought.

Do your own search for wahabism in google or wikipedia and you will get an idea.

Good luck.

29. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on April 14th, 2006 @ 4:34 pm

i posted wikipedia link for wahabism,it didnt get approved:/

In short,wahabis are those who dont believe in Milad,Niaz,visiting shrines etc etc and consider it Biddat.

30. Karachiite (unregistered) on April 21st, 2006 @ 8:44 pm

Religion IS politics, there is no segregation of these in Islam. That the barbaric Westerners have disfigured and destroyed their religions by seperating their spiritual values from their law is evident when you see how much debauchery and ignorance plagues their society.

Inshallah, this will never happen in Pakistan. May Allah give our Ummah the means to end our current level of ignorance and infatuation with Westernism and take the proper steps to educate our society so that we are enlightened individuals that work hard to uphold Islam in its purest form.

Ameen.

31. Karachiite (unregistered) on April 21st, 2006 @ 8:54 pm

You guys complain about religious political parties being a cancer… What about political parties in general? In India, they have hundreds of little cancerous parties in the name of Marxism, Communism, Socialism, Modernism, Secularism – they all hate each other and kill each other on a daily basis. In America, people within parties pursue targeted killings and discrimination on a daily basis. They will blackmail each other to get what they want and WHAT THE HELL, THEY ARE IN THE SAME DAMN PARTY!

If you guys don’t have knowledge of the political process in general, then don’t comment. Factions are a good thing, and providing them a means of expressing themselves peacefully rather then trying to suppress them in the hopes of “one grand party in harmony” is antithetical to Islam.

Remember, even during the Prophet’s time and beyond there were differences of opinion among people. No one condemned these differences. People compromised. It was when people started referring to these differences as cancer and tried to suppress them that the Khwaarij and others radicalized to form what is now Shi’ism (who later differentiated their religious beliefs to cement their different political identity).

And since so many of you dumb burgers post here, Sunni Tehreek is actually quite peaceful. They are probably the Barelvi version of Tableeghi Jamaat. They both have bad people in them, but in reality they are populist parties whose main appeal lies not in becoming very politically powerful but to strengthen a base for themselves in their own respective rituals.