Life

Why do most politicians invariably grow fat?

10 Comments so far

1. Alam (unregistered) on April 14th, 2006 @ 5:37 am

who doesn’t in Pak? Ask ur fat mama.

2. MB (unregistered) on April 14th, 2006 @ 11:16 am

I agree with Alam. Due to many reasons many do with passing time. Its a simple question with quite different reasons as its answer i guess. From medical point of view to other reasons. A broad outlook is needed.

3. Shahzad Shabbir Saudagar (unregistered) on April 14th, 2006 @ 11:19 am

if u make ur routine to be just eating sitting sleeping and all the other ‘ings’ so u wouldn’t even find any variable for ur fatness.

these crooked politician do nothin constructive and always keep planning and implementing all the destruction for the country, keep mostly uneducated ppl busy with their B.S, always try to sell the part of our country and make money.
    thats what they are……………

4. MB (unregistered) on April 14th, 2006 @ 12:42 pm

What about WORKing hard, EXCERCIing daily ,THINKing good, CARing for nation, SHARing the SUFFERing of a commmon man and other so many positive “ING”‘s ?

I almost completely agree with Shahzad for his views but not for the “ING” part. There are some good ‘ing’ things that they dont do. So its fair to say that they only do the negative “ING”‘s.

5. RAJA KHAN (unregistered) on April 14th, 2006 @ 3:27 pm

Haram ka maal aur apne PAKISTAN ka paisa kha kha key mote nahi honge toh kya hongey?

6. MB (unregistered) on April 14th, 2006 @ 3:28 pm

Kon nahi kha raha hai haram ka maal meray dost ?

7. Xill-e-Ilahi (unregistered) on April 14th, 2006 @ 4:11 pm

Occupational hazard. It also serves as a qualification for the job.

To the illiterate and semiliterate people of Pakistan, the fat man personifies more than just flab. And the people who vote for these overweight leaders do not think of them as fat. The call them huge. They call them weighty. They call them healthy. They call them roab-dar.

In Mohsin Hamid’s Mothsmoke, theres a little part where the caharacter Murad Badshah goes on about how favourable an imprtession his weight makes. Even in the Godfather, Puzo writes about how all the major Dons of that time were both literally and figuratively “men with a belly”.

I think the same logic applies in politics – at least in Pakistan, where the masses are simply, well, the masses. The great unwashed, unemployed and unfed. I cannot imagine my driver voting for someone as skinny as Quaid-e-Azam.

But – all of my reasoning might be just another widget at the urinal. At 78 kg, I’m simply the fat man’s apologist.

8. Zain (unregistered) on April 14th, 2006 @ 5:27 pm

Because of SHARAB, KABAB and SHABAB……

9. yo yo (unregistered) on April 14th, 2006 @ 5:41 pm

Politicians might be fat in Pakistan..but most of the Pakistanis suffer from poor health but not obesity as suggested by other people here.

Its countries like US where common people are fat and rich are not.

10. wasiq (unregistered) on April 15th, 2006 @ 5:34 am

McDonalds in town remained closed on Goodfriday also don’t you HATE that ? i think they should now change …I’M LOVIN IT to

…. WE’RE SAVING THE BEST FOR THE LAST…..

HAPPY EASTER HAPPY EASTER HAPPY EASTER HAPPY EASTER HAPPY EASTER