Google Trends – Sex and Pakistan.
I came across with this link on one of the forums I go to; apparently Pakistan is the top most country which searches for the term “sex”. Seven out of top ten countries are Muslim countries. Quite interesting. What say you? Innocent ‘bholay bhalay’ people who don’t know dozens of other sophisticated sex related terms and search for a single query while rest of the world goes for specific terms? Or is it just plain frustration for the glimpse of bare skin.
PS: Try searching different terms and some of the results may surprise you.
Heh, that’s not a shocker. Albeit, there is one thing: there are 6 Muslim countries on that list, and not 7. Menial, unnecessary, but then again, a lot of corrections are.
Oh, another thing. No Pakistani cities popped up in the Cities list. Delhi happens to be on top, interestingly enough. Two more Indian cities make the Top 10.
jonbr
this trend thing os fun
thankx for sharing
JonyBr, looks like you are right; the lack of knowledge about more specific sex terms ( Cunnilingus , Fellatio ) made us top the list :)
By the way, the Google disclaimer @ the end of the page makes the accurateness of the results volatile though!
Google Trends aims to provide insights into broad search patterns. It is based upon just a portion of our searches, and several approximations are used when computing your results. Please keep this in mind when using it.
This isn’t necessarily something “bad.” With the near complete absence of proper education (in Muslim countries, which are our concern at the moment) on one of the most important aspects of human life, it is no wonder that people turn to the Internet for education.
Yes, I know, not just for education… but a lack of normality leads to this behavior.
And this is not the only aspect where people are hopelessly uneducated. Financial management, e.g., is another. You know these are things in life each and every person ought to be taught. If they aren’t, no wonder their curiosity gets the better of them… and their behavior is unregulated.
And this is not the only aspect where people are hopelessly uneducated.
Agreed. People are illetrate in every dimension of life, thats a sad story. If they are then they make no use of it ( civic sense for example )
I love the provided link. I tried some mathematical terms like PDE, singularity and induction and it brings up a list of cities, half of which are located in India.
I think this says something – that same technology can be used for a good cause and useless aims. Although India shows up high in the list for the term “SEX”, it fulls half of the list when Induction is typed in (Induction is a Mathematical proofing technique). There are more ppl in India USING the internet and abusing it, unlike Egypt and other Muslims countries.
very very interesting. thanks for sharing.
Pakistan in top three:
sex
orkut
call girl (haha now thats not sex ed)
bomb blast (no wonder)
Geo
Canadian immigration
Meera
ACCA
Uk Student Visa
Visa
Best University
Biryani
Osama Bin Ladin
Vitz
Kate Winslet
Export
thats interesting enough.
so many pakistanis want to get out of here (visa).
Meera is popular in UAE as well.
A lot of desi boys are looking for call girls on the internet LOL.
Osama Bin Laden is very popular in Pakistan.
Titanic has won kate Winslet the heart of many Pakistanis.
Interesting “revelations”…:P
Oh and …
Shahrukh Khan
Salman Khan
John Abraham
Preety Zinta
Fardeen Khan
are more famous in Pakistan than they are in India. Even though the population of India is more than 5 times that of Pakistans.
IllusionFS… Katrina Kaif bhi yaar????????/ :)
Thanks for the link
I checked the term “Child Sex” and Pakistan is on the top of the lists In all regions, this is actually very sad and indicates a need to build awareness among the people for detection, prevention, and handling such victims and to move against the criminals.
interestingly in Pakistani cities, Quetta is at the top and guess wht Khi is at 10th :)
Well done JonyBr for such and interesting topic. As for the topic I think every one has done a good job. But here are my findings. Hope it will help in clearing few things. Similarly I might be missing some points so do help me when you reply.
Saying “apparently Pakistan is the top most country which searches for….” Is not okay as it gives an impression of Pakistani as Nation & not as Internet Users only, though we can understand what it means.
The credibility of Google is an established fact but the results that are being deduced from the above search results are some times flawed and here it is how:-
Consider this:
Population (2006 Estimate) 163,985,373
Internet Users, (Year 2000) 133,900
Internet Users, Latest Data 7,500,000
Penetration (% Population) 4.6 %
(%) Users in Asia 2.1 %
Use Growth (2000-2005) 5,501.2 %
( Stats from: http://www.internetworldstats.com/stats3.htm
Please post latest stats if anyone of you has. Specially if they are quite different then above. Thanks)
As you can see the internet users are only 7,500,000, according to latest data. So they “do not” show the general trend of our Pakistani society. In fact, they represent our so called educated, enlighten class which includes all of us around. The common man which in this case makes 95 percent of the population has so many other issues that I doubt if he has this SEX term prominent in his mind. Yes of course it would be another case if he had been educated and would be in our educated stream line. The above results also show that we the educated are either wasting our energies in negative areas or areas that are for no better for society in general.
Alright now some thing related to Google Trend. Can any one tell me if the numerical value for the searches for Se, Sexuality, Sexual disease, Sex issue, Sex education will be same? Suppose here is a data you have picked
Crime, street crime, woman crime, men crime, state crime, Crime, street crime, woman crime, men crime, state crime, Crime, street crime, woman crime, men crime, state crime, Crime, street crime, woman crime, men crime, state crime,
Formula one: (any search for the word crime)
RESULT: Search for word crime: 20
Formula two: (search for word related to crime only)
RESULT: Search for crime: 4
Google experts are obviously not idiots and they must have a solution for it and only then the results would have been given but the ingredients in that trend result is cumulative and we cannot separate them.
Now some interesting results:
1. Terrorism
Result Pakistan (on top)
2. Extremism
Result: Pakistan (on top)
Wow what does this mean. Are we the core of it or we are more concerned. (I guess it was the Americans). What we cane make out of this?
3. ALLAH
Results:
1. Pakistan
2. Indonesia
3. Turkey
4. Morocco
5. Malaysia
Wow, here we go. Does this imply we are the holiest of saints and farishta’s with everyone searching for ALLAH?
Human Rights
Result:
1. South Africa
2. Philippines
3. Ireland
4. New Zealand
5. Australia
6. India
10. Switzerland
So South Africans seem more concerned about human rights which had such a bad record of HR until last decade. And India is there also so does it mean Indians are more HR conscious? Their HR records say otherwise. I don’t know how to get it. Does this mean there are more HR abuses there and that other countries (below the line) have absolutely no problem as an HR or HR is not a big deal in their lives. United States, we all agree is not such a case for sure specially after Iraq & Afghanistan and Guantanamo bay Issue.
Education
Result:
1. Pakistan
2. India
3. Philippines
4. South Africa
5. Ireland
Amazing it is again that we Pakis (cannot say about India) are more concerned about education than any other country in the world.
Sex crime
Result:
1. India
2. United States
3. Malaysia
4. Australia
5. United Kingdom
6. Canada
7. France
8. Belgium
9. Germany
10. Netherlands
Now if you switch from Sex to Sex crime India comes up along with heavy weight USA. And there is no mentioning of Pakistan or any other Muslim country except Malaysia. Does this mean the ratio (yes I am talking about ratio) in those countries is quite high than Paki Land? If yes then how come we are a nation which thinks (or as in this case, searches) for SEX related terms and if no then how this result is coming up.
So if X= Total Population
And
A = percent of educated
B = computer users
C = internet users
D = Google search engine users
Then the Google trend result is D% of C% of B% of A% of X. This clearly shows that the result may show something about the internet users in Paki land but not the nation in general. So it’s basically about us the educated ones in this case
The purpose of this comment is not to say that Google trend results are wrong but I will request caution in translating those result into a meaning for a credible topic or a discussion on a subject like S. And this is for JonyBr.
And Google itself says it all:” The data Google Trends produces may contain inaccuracies for a number of reasons, including data-sampling issues and a variety of approximations that Trends makes use of. We hope you find this service interesting and entertaining, but you probably don’t want to write your PhD dissertation based on this information ”
More over please do help me if there is anything wrong in stats of if they are outdated. And please do point out if I have missed something. The purpose is solely to increase the understanding.
Correction :
“subject like Sex” in last line of third last paragraph.
@MB.. That is some good info and a different view of looking at things. Good job.
Try the word “f–k”.
New Delhi in the lead. Top country Iran. Pakistan nowhere to be seen.
O dear, MB, o dear sir, my post wasnt conclusive neither I implied any of the result as a fact, did I?. I simply provided the link I found interesting, with open discussion and personal conclusions. True it does not represent the whole nation neither did I say it does (If I remember right). Neither nations 100% population is internet user nor Googles fan and in Statistics, we call the subjects ‘random selection’.
PS: I will take your word on all the Pakistani’s who searched for word Sex searched for the sex education and not the porno :p j/k.
ahahahahha…. Nice guy..
Okay but we know it was not sex education.lolzzz
Right ?….lol
magar sir jee ye jo line hai na ye thori dangerous hai agar gore karain toh
“Pakistan is the top most country which searches for the term “sex”
sumujh gai na jiger ?..Lolzz
es ko shayd es tarah hona chaiye tha :
Pakistan “Internet User” is at the top among other internet users around the world who searches for the term “sex”
lol
If Pakistan is ranked top in searching for ‘sex’ I think that most internet users were actually looking for some pornographic content.
I think that the trends do not consider the total population of the country and only refer to the number of SEARCHES made. So think like this.. the number of internet users in India are more than six times the number of internet users in Pakistan. Still, Pakistan is at no. 1 and India is at 5. What it means is that a HIGHER PERCENTAGE of internet users in Pakistan are using it or should I say abusing the internet for filthy deeds.
MB you might like to twist some facts but face it dude, that our nation is sex-craved :/
And if you say that the 95 % of the population do not use the internet.. I am sure you know how filthy Pashto Movies are.
There are so many ‘mujras’ available throughout the city.
Rainbow Center is one of the biggest porn distributing channel in the region that too pirated.
There have been several accounts of X Rated channels on Cable TV.
Please also consider the population growth rate. So many people have nothing better to do than go around mating.
Pakistan is in top three in the following keywords and they are definately not for education purposes.
Sexy
Sexy girl
Nude
sexy video (lol)
You had to figure someone else would be thinking along the same lines:
http://time.blogs.com/daily_dish/2006/05/googling_sex.html
Andrew Sullivant is a columnist for The Times, UK.
Some of these kids don’t ever get to take their cars to an auto workshop and have to sit there all day…….
on technorati or other similar tools,BUSH is the most searched and tagged keyword.i didnt try Google trends but i am sure if you search it,you will find it on top.
Nice work JhonyBr and nice research MB.
@IllusionFS:
First, I am very strong critic of our nation related to other things, as you can see from my other posts, and its even to the extent of being extremist in it but we cannot be blinded by stats that are, in practical, not applicable in this case.
Second, sir jee mai bhi tunz hee ker raha tha apni hee nation per when I said “Okay but we know it was not sex education.lolzzz “. I guess you missed the point. Actually I only meant that I know its not sex education and its porno stuff but that “tunzz” was on our educated & enlighten class.
You said “MB you might like to twist some facts …..”
I wish you could also mention which fact I twisted. I have given links, the search results were from Google Trend and no stat that I have mentioned is my own and were supported by other links. Bring some credibility in words jigger.
Now as for your comment “But face it dude, that our nation is sex-craved”
Also you have given several other examples with CY mentioning a link (thanks CY) as well which again advocates the Google case.
So here is the reply:
Alright let’s take the best of your case. Let’s include the people who have computer and let’s assume for your sake that they all go for porno. Still it makes the figure to 2 multiply by 7,500,000 (assuming every second person who has a computer is using internet). The percentage then becomes 9%.
Let me help you out again.
http://www.dawn.com/2004/02/14/fea.htm
http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/EC28Df03.html
http://www.the-south-asian.com/Sep2003/pakistanbroadband.htm
The stats are outdated & I am therefore exaggerating for you case so if you visit these sites and take all the stats in consideration you will come up with a figure of 12 million people who only see cable TV and add it to those who have a computer and then add it to those who have internet and assuming they all go for porno the figure is still near 20 million which again is just 20% percent of the population.
Please keep in mind that a person, most probably will have more then one medium available to him, & let’s suppose for your sake again that he uses all of them for porn but he will only be considered once as porn stuff by 3 mediums does not mean 3 times porn. It cannot be quantified as such. Though he might have a better chance of viewing but it is countered by the fact that free availability, in general case, to such content is also difficult in our social spectrum.
Now you may say that we haven’t counted for the people who don’t have such facilities and yet may have such a trend (The Sex Trend) but you should notice that we have take care of that figure as well by including a portion of computer users, internet users and TV and cable users who are either very young (children) or very old, who in real are not interested in even a serious program, what to talk of an adult show or for this purpose Sex related program. Most of the young view ship is interested in programs like cartoons, and local shows related to entertainment etc. And then there is a female view ship which, considering our society seems quite content with programs like dramas, musical programs, cooking programs etc. So this balances it out, or in fact exceeds it competitor. I hope you will agree its fair in this case.
With such a high exaggeration of stats, jus to give you and edge for the sake of discussion we only came up with a 20 percent sex mind nation. I an not a statistician but I think to make a fair judgment out of a nation the figure should have been at least 50 percent for it to be applicable on whole nation.
Last not the least:
Will any one reply to the questions related to those 6 searches (hey I forgot to put the numbering after ALLAH ….)
If you go for some more searches you will see amazing results.
So here is the summary:-
We Paki people may be searching for Sex related things, but, but, but it’s not the nation. It’s just “WE” the educated ones so please don’t apply it to all Pakistani’s.
Please read the Google trend page where it mentions that “We hope you find this service interesting and entertaining……….” They know also the user cannot conclude anything about a nation based upon its results. Yet it can tell us a lot about Internet Users.
In the end I will say is please don’t take this as an attempt to criticize our educated people but take it as an attempt to see things from an another point of view as well.
Correction :
“With such a high exaggeration of stats, jus to give you an edge for the sake of “
No doubt, an interesting service from google. but…
Recently I came across this gif image on the internet, showing the results of numerous searches (such as donkey sex, dog sex, baby sex etc), and in all the results Pakistan was shown on top (along with India and some other Muslim countries). After independantly verifying this, I was surprised to see this was indeed the case.
But after experimenting a bit more with this new service I found there was something definatly amiss about this new service from Google.
First off in all the searches Pakistan’s bar was way bigger than the one in second place, and I find it quite unusual for that to be the case. In all my years living here I’ve never noticed any unnatural tendencies of anybody towards the sexual habits of an animal of any type.
Secondly, in these lewd term’s results, if you go into the languages tab, it shows Arabic. Now, logically speaking, if the country on top was Pakistan, then surely the language on top should be English. I don’t think too many people in Pakistan use google in Arabic…and this seems to be the case only if you enter some lewd terms like the ones I mentioned. If you enter ‘Pakistan’, top rated region is Pakistan, and top language is English (which should be expected). But if you enter something like donkey sex, top region is Pakistan, and top language becomes Arabic. How google trends comes up with the connection of donkey sex, pakistan and arabic is beyond me.
I also can’t quite believe that India, with an estimated 18.5 million internet users, is out searched by Pakistan’s 1.5 million internet users when it comes to Bollywood. (all stats according to the CIA). And when I tried Shahrukh Khan, Morocco, with 800,000 internet users outsearched India. Wow. Way to go Morocco!!!
And strangly enough, the two biggest internet users, China (94 million) and America (159 million), hardly every show up on top in the results.
I tried some terms (popular TV shows in USA) that you would expect, with 159 million internet users, USA would be shown up on top, or atleast in the top three. I tried ‘Desperate Housewives’, but it seems like the 2 million internet users in New Zealand have nothing better to do but search for ‘Desperate Housewives’, USA coming in in 5th position.
I tried ‘Lost’, and USA was at 7th position. I also tried USAs highest rated show on TV these days, ‘american idol’, and again USA was in 4th place, behing Singapore, Malaysia and Philippines..then I guess people in America don’t user Google much…
Well I find most of the results from Google trends to be quite mind boggling to say the least, leading me to believe they are quite simply WRONG.
But if they are accurate…….
According to the FAQs this is how it is calculated:
(Total Number of Searches for term ‘X’ in a Region) / (Total Number of Searches for ‘any’ term in a Region)
so according to the above formula it is basically the percentage of that term in that region.
Mind boggling results are due to the fact the denominator of above formula is much much bigger in countries where Internet users are higher in numnber.
So what does it mean to us? we dont have anything else to search apart from these terms ?
Both Sami and Hsar are right.I think HSAR want to say that they *play* with data.It could be right because we should not forget that Google is an American company and teamed up with govt agencies and keep an eye on search results.Specially from ARab and SouthEast Asian region.
Sami is right as well because if someone searchin for such terms,it doesnt reflect that pakistanis re animal sex lovers.It actually reflects that pakistanis dont get chance for having sex in reality and prefer to spend most of time for making online searches *wicked smile*
Anyone know the contact number of callgirl?
yeah pakistan may be on top, with sex, but switch to ‘porn’ and you see a completely diff picture, maybe it is just the term that we use, not actually how interested we are in a particular thing.
i wont call girl
hi : i m shehreyar 26 year old from pakistan , sindh , karachi . i have done B TECH . i m doing private job as network admin.
i want karachi sindh call girl & any sencer girl , antyes wana friendship me .
i loved any fiendship & relationship all.
thx contect me ” 0320_5069927 : 03212316535 ” my id is : dr_healper@hotmail.com
i m waiting for u r contect or call .
cu bye.
@ shehreyar, this is not a singles bar it is a blog for KHI. Pls. go somewhere else to look for a frienship.
MB, Hsar, Sami and the rest.. i’d like to put my two cents in here as well.
First of all, we’re assuming EVERYONE in the world uses google(?). I admit its very popular but not so much in other countries, where yahoo, msn, infoseek and other’s still have market shares. In Pakistan, we seem to have a fetish for all things google (including myself) such as orkut, search, gmail and others.
So one reason why there’s such a HUGE difference between our results and those of others. Also, try searching for comparative search results of sex, porn and xxx and you’ll see a completely different picture..(?).
http://google.com/trends?q=porn%2C+sex%2C+xxx&ctab=2&geo=all&date=all
So suffice to say, different people from different countries search for different stuff. Since in pakistan, we cover everything in the blanket term of sex (being novice users maybe?) the results are high. But try trending for more specific sexual topics (gay, lesbian, etc) and you’ll find really different results. Maybe because most of the western public are not novices atleast when it comes to the language.
Im also very puzzled by the discovery of Hsar.. as to why arabic and croat return top results from languages, while pakistan is on top as a country?
just take a look at this trend
http://www.google.com/trends?q=booty+girl&ctab=1&geo=all&date=all
Yes, someone was true in saying that muslims and especially pakistnis are not specific. otherwise above result shows clearly what european and americans search…:)