Behr-e-M.A.Jinnah Road, and more…

On the way to work today, I was treated to a wonderful (?) view of monsoon-fied Karachi. Following is a pictorial review of sorts.

Darya-e-Board Office Chowrangi, North Nazimabad:

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/08/Darya-e-BoardOfficeChowrangi%20%28North%20Nazimabad%29-thumb.jpg

The Lasbella Bridge. I tried to get a picture of the falling rain — it formed a purdysome weave-like pattern because it was coming down vertically and diagonally at the same time. I have a sasta camera, however, and this is all I got. :-P

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/08/02-%20Lasbella%20Bridge-thumb.jpg

Behr-e-M.A.Jinnah Road — the beginning. This traffic police waaley saheb decided to take a “safer” route and went up on the footpath. Good decision, I’d say, given the circumstances:

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/08/03%20-%20Behr-e-M.A.%20Jinnah%20Road%2001-thumb.jpg

Behr-e-M.A.Jinnah Road — chaos ahead:

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/08/04%20-%20Behr-e-M.A.%20Jinnah%20Road%202-thumb.jpg

Behr-e-M.A.Jinnah Road — Water-skiing, anyone? :-P

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/08/06%20-%20Behr-e-M.A.%20Jinnah%20Road%2003-thumb.jpg

Behr-e-M.A.Jinnah Road — water fills my cab. First thoughts? “MAYDAY MAYDAY!!! I can’t SWIM!!!”

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/08/05%20-%20MAYDAY%20MAYDAY%21%21%21-thumb.jpg

After this, I decided to get out and push the car, because the driver was alone and it didn’t seem right that I should be sitting in there while the poor guy struggled alone. Incidentally, none of the gawking bystanders helped, even when they were asked. Chivalry is DEAD here, I tell you! :-P

*moment of silence to mourn the death of chivalry*

Lesson learnt: When Karachi gets rain, use a bus. Getting soaked while waiting for a bus for 20 minutes is wayyyyy better than having to get out in the middle of mucky, icky water to push a stalled cab. Feh! :-P

37 Comments so far

1. Fazeel (unregistered) on August 10th, 2007 @ 10:40 pm

Good Post.It seems that you had fun in pushing the cab:P

Anyways coincidentally it is raining hard here in NJ too and I haven’t brought my umbrella:(

2. d0ct0r (unregistered) on August 10th, 2007 @ 10:44 pm

karachi is really messed up at the moment..

3. Bolshevik (unregistered) on August 10th, 2007 @ 10:45 pm

LOL I *never* use umbrellas! Rain is meant to get wet in!

4. Syed Johny (unregistered) on August 10th, 2007 @ 11:01 pm

nicee ! Pictures!!

:)
    lets keep our fingers crossed that these problems will be solved till next rains! when majority of the “taraqiati kaam:”will be completed!

5. Syed Johny (unregistered) on August 10th, 2007 @ 11:04 pm

well !
    I for the first time in life used an Umbrella yesterday !!

and guess what !!
    IT was useful ! :D

6. KarachiImissU (unregistered) on August 10th, 2007 @ 11:23 pm

AAhh..Karachi I miss you so much whenever i hear that you having fun in the rain.
    AAHH I miss you whenever I think about Pakoorai, Samoosai, Chtni,and Baisan ki Roti, in a rainy day..
    I miss you whenever I see picture of people having fun in the rain, throwing eggs(gandai andai) to each other :), playing cricket on the main street with Tape ball and getting wet..

Aah I miss you my city..I miss you all the time

7. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on August 10th, 2007 @ 11:34 pm

Next year June 15h Onwards :) Umbrella business will thrive.

Bolshe u forgot to snap the riveria between KDA roundabout and Haider Bus stop, and i u wish to take a chance :) try coming from Ziaudding to KDA :) you will have fun of life – USE BOAT :)

8. Bolshevik (unregistered) on August 10th, 2007 @ 11:43 pm

Yeah, I fink I’ll buy a canoe — and use a traffic policeman as a paddle. :P

9. Da-Man (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 12:01 am

Are the two men in the first photo casually holding hands? LOL.

10. Bolshevik (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 12:05 am

uh-oh! lol! :P

11. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 1:07 am

Men scratching groin, 2 mEn holding hands, and walking with one hand on other MAN’s shoulder in passion is VERY VERY common sight in PAKISTAN, not specific to Karachi, term it as…… Desperation, or GAY culture hype, brewing Fanx to Ali Saleem aka Begum Nawazish Ali – Freedom of expression and enlighted moderation :D cheers ! here comes…………..Stinkers from HIS fans,……

12. Petarian_88 (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 1:39 am

the poor men were not seen scratching their groins but were merely trying to hold their shalwars up to prevent them getting wetthe poor men were not seen scratching their groins but were merely trying to hold their shalwars up to prevent them getting wet

13. ChipMunx (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 1:41 am

abay Jamal khuwar Insaan asal gay tu tum khud ho. Chashma laga kar dekh wo shalwar ko opar kar k pakray hain. You sexist retard!

14. zee (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 1:49 am

CHIPMUNX: Gooood one:D ROFLOL

15. Bilal (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 2:00 am

So what’s wrong with scratching your groin?

16. Silver (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 2:32 am

They say due to climatic change we are getting more rain than usual.

17. BitterTruth (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 3:02 am

In second photo
    “Iran per hamla Islam per hamla tassawur hoga” :D a threat to America, perhaps complete version should have
    “Iran per hamla Islam per hamla tassawur hoga aur hum America ki eint sai eint baja daingay jaisay apnay city ki baja di hai, preview hazir hai”

18. piyaray (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 8:35 am

karachi ki berbaadi hum sub ki zabani.
    drainage system ko bahaal karo, us koe waqhti tor per bus chook na karo. us ka bay-ra ga-rak na ker.
    serf fly over per hee kaam na ker, guterline per bhee kuch ga-aur ker. hoosh may ab-bhee aajaa, apnay joosh per itna naaz na ker.

19. Raza (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 8:41 am

Aray bhai, koi sharah e faisal ko bhi to pooch lay. Darya bana hua tha poora kal raat. 3-4 feet paani, anybody got pictures ?

20. MB (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 9:59 am

Wow
    Bolshevick
    Great post yaar, looks like you had some fun. Feeling jealous of you , lolz

By the way i cannot ( or i do ?) believe this is KARACHI

Looks like Interior Sindh village
    http://www.dawn.com/2007/08/11/top8.htm

21. MB (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 10:57 am

Hang on , hang on!!
    More :
    I completely agree to the lesson in the end. Its way better, safe & easy to use public transport (especially the lumbey bus) rather onces own. I am saying this from my experience. Only if you confident of your own, use own.

22. Imran (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 11:10 am
  23. Imran (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 11:11 am
  24. br0ke (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 11:30 am

bolshe i can just imagine u pushing the cab from the back and the cabbie pushing it from the front…… PRICELESS!

25. Zainub (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 1:47 pm

I have a better alternative to public transport – I’m considering buying/renting a boat, or at least a canoe…can come extremely handy in this weather. We can store it up in our houses some where and take it out every two or three times a year when the city floods.

26. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 1:57 pm

Did you guys see todays dawn which have picture of LiaquatAbad Underpass?

27. IUnknown (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 2:08 pm

really good post after quite a while.
    We went to manora yesterday and GOD!!. The water was at the level of footpaths near sakhi hasan and water pump and at some parts of nazimabad.

@adnan, yeah it looks like another clifton underpaas :D

SF has no really good mechanism of drainage. I dont know when govt. will get their heads back?

We will be needing boats in future , just like venice in italy.

28. HITMAN (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 2:45 pm
  29. d0ct0r (unregistered) on August 12th, 2007 @ 2:07 am

almost drowned himself but won’t let the tv drown ..

http://www.flickr.com/photos/moody72/1084010970/

30. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 12th, 2007 @ 2:38 am

now where is that nazim hiding? this time he doesn’t even have excuse of unaccessible areas coz Lalukhair is the MAIN AREA of MQM.

31. d0ct0r (unregistered) on August 12th, 2007 @ 3:20 am

Nazim-e-Nala(sewer) is busy giving statements on tv that life of karachiites haven’t come to a complete standstill and every thing is normal and under control… puddle of filthy rain water accumilated right in front of city council’s building on MA Jinna Rd(where all the nazims hold city council meetings) .. M A Jinnah rd from New Memon Masjid to jinnah bridge was flooded with waist deep rain water and only trucks and jeeps were able to pass that strech of M A jinnah rd.. cars didn’t dared and wisely took U turn.. roads in front of Army house(Mushraf’s residence whenever he is in khi) was also flooded with rain water and huge craters had appeared in the road just 50 feet from main gate of army house…

32. Rehan ul Haq (unregistered) on August 12th, 2007 @ 1:37 pm

i Miss Karachi

33. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 12th, 2007 @ 2:22 pm

2 days back I read that residents of Defence phase 5 migrated to other parts of the city. So called POSH areas!

34. Defence-phase-5 Girl (unregistered) on August 13th, 2007 @ 7:02 am

So called POSH area? Are you some sort of complex? If so, don’t worry, God is great. Just keep your fingers crossed.

35. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 13th, 2007 @ 11:49 am

hey gal why would I have any complex for an area where people are suffering more than Liyari? :-). Be real and be practical! :-).

36. IUnknown (unregistered) on August 13th, 2007 @ 12:38 pm

defence aur attack walon say ALLAH bachaye

37. Balma (unregistered) on August 13th, 2007 @ 7:40 pm

South Kala Pul sector 6 (DHA Phase VI) kay gharo’n kay tehkhaano’n may paani bhar gayaa hae aur saRkoa’n per paani jamaa hae!.
    This is what happens when Bandooq Vaalaas act as urban planners!
    Kick army-types out of managing cantt and DHA areas in Karachi for the safety of their residents.