JI Naib Amir (Karachi) shot. Traffic jam on Shahrah-e-Faisal

The Jamat-e-Islami (JI) Naib Amir for Karachi was shot earlier today in New Karachi. He was taken to the Aga Khan Hospital, where his condition is said to be critical.

Meanwhile, friends have reported that there’s a massive traffic jam at Shahrah-e-Faisal. I don’t know yet if there’s a connection between these two pieces of information, but please stay safe, everyone.

I’ll post updates here as soon as I receive them.

32 Comments so far

1. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 15th, 2008 @ 9:29 pm

Shahrah-e-Faisal was always jammed,nothing unusual about that,i was on SF at around 8:20 ,it wasn’t that bad,traffic was moving at a snail pace,as it always does daily..

2. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on January 15th, 2008 @ 9:54 pm

i was at AKU 6.30 ~ 7.30 – Mr. Kuddal was also present there to see the person i was visiting, and it seems either it had happened later then 8.00 as at 8.15 BBC urdu reported it.

Traffic as usual – however I believe that maligned forces are desperate to push Karachi into violance ONCE AGAIN,

ALLAH SAVE KARACHI – ALLAH SAVE PAKISTAN

3. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 15th, 2008 @ 10:04 pm

yea i was also thinking about the “hidden hands”(Amercian/Indians?)… definitely at a time like this MQM would never go after JI’s naib amir and neither would it be logical to blame it on Alqaida.. so definitely some force is desperately trying to incite violence and want to infuriate the people..

4. balma (unregistered) on January 15th, 2008 @ 11:12 pm

aaj sooraj maghrib say niklaa hae?
    Is someone faking you Doctor?

5. Raza (unregistered) on January 15th, 2008 @ 11:57 pm

I was on Sharah-e-Faisal from 7.30-8PM and it wasn’t extraordinarily jammed. It was far from the “massive traffic jam” you’re suggesting.

6. balma (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 12:09 am

sahaafi aisay hee baRhaa chaRhaa kar likhtay hai’n!

7. KhiTorPit (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 12:19 am

@Balma, Sahafi say yaad aaya.

The foreign media questions and interview Mush for each and everything that happens in Pak.
    I was wondering that he (Mush) is not liable to answer our own press and journalist, or in other words he is not responsible to satisfy our own people ???

Our media have no access to interview the western govt. from their, nobody can ask open questions to them, so how come he is liable to answer all those stupid media who always criticize Pak. with or without reason, Today he was questioned by German media, yesterday it was Singapore, CNN and blah blah.

Apnay country main media ki band baja di hai aur aur chalain hain doosron ko jawab dainay, apnay logon ki parwah hi nahi hai.

8. alam (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 12:40 am

@KhiTorPit

Bhai, nobody can come to GHQ and point a pistol on Musharraf’s head for an interview.

He himself chooses these interviews to look like . He thinks he is statesman, and he ends up like a fool.

9. balma (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 12:55 am

It is one of those rare moments that I have to somewhat agree with Karachi-Toronto-Pittsburg saheb.
    Bhayae! jub doosro’n kee maangae taangae kee khaao gae, to yehee izzat reh jaayae gee. Tafhum?

Also, if you guys have noticed that there is always this chaudhry Indian journalist in white house news conferences whose sole purpose in life is to ask questions whose answers will make Pakistan look really bad. Of ocurse, he gets enough help from Paksitani actions too.

Well, how come Dawn and Jang don’t send their reps to white house. Or why don’t they hire someone on contract in D.C. Here is Balma’s 360 view: Jang and Dawn journalists are busy promoting hijaban culture in Pakistan…. bastards.. Alam Ara, since you seem to be in contact with Ummat, perhaps you can suggest to them to hire a White House rep (from within America) and make him ask all nasty questions from Bush.
    People should boycott Jang for their low standard journalism and ads all over the first page.

10. shallow (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 1:04 am

Atleast Musharaf (well dressed) has a better personality compare to Hamid Karzai and Indian Prime minister. Karzai in his (Phantom of the opera) cape looks like he is ready for a costume party.

11. balma (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 1:07 am

Karzai, an ex see eye ay agent, thinks he is some old poor loser kabuli king. Bastard.

12. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 1:14 am

Roti Rs.5

Khara hou aaj bhe roti k char harf liye
    Sawal ye he kitabo ne kia diya mujh ko

13. wasiq (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 2:17 am

@Jamal Shamsi

Mr kuddal…? did you mean the honorable MK….if yes then it should be Khuddal and not kuddal because it sounds hebrew which he could never be not in a million years….lol

ps; i have nothing at stake in the total annhilation of karachi/pakistan i saved iran from the us didn’t i.?…and i believe Mr Obama(D) knows more about pakistan than most of us living or dying here….pakistan in trouble is his only chance of winning the presidential race….or atleast the democratic nomination….thankyou for your dying support…
    God bless america.

14. Realism (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 5:54 am

the killing of a JI leader or a mullah is not enough. we should start demolishing madrassas as well if we have to save the country.

15. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 6:34 am

Its not the Mullahs. They may be backward but they wouldnt knowingly hurt their country and there are other ways to deal with them.

Its the people, who are “sold out” and trying to make govt. look bad for their own selfish reasons.

16. alam (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 7:07 am

@Realism

+++1 to demolishing madrassas

Actually, find out who have supported madrassas with money and other support, amongst us, and book them in aiding terrorists

17. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 9:40 am

Does Dunkin Donuts in Karachi do home delivery ?? Urgent reply would be much appreciated

18. Tariq Khanani (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 9:50 am

looks like an urgent delivery case to me :p

19. Tariq Khanani (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 9:53 am

@Topic

this post would mean a lot to ut if its title was like “%No Traffic jam on SF%”

20. IUnknown (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 11:50 am

lol .. dhakkan donuts!

21. IUnknown (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 11:55 am

Pakistan will remain an islamic state doesnt matter how much secular and retard persons show their retarndness and keep blaming al-qiada for every thing.

22. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 12:01 pm

Seems like Bolshe ended up in “Rumor Mill” – it came out as hoax –

Bolsho you are losing your credibilty FAST !

– – – DAWN Reported – – –
    KARACHI: JI leader wounded in attack

By Our Staff Reporter

KARACHI, Jan 15: A local leader of the Jamaat-i-Islami was critically wounded on Tuesday afternoon when four assailants opened fire on him in New Karachi, police and witnesses said.Bilal Colony police said Abdur Rasheed, 60, was going on his motorcycle in Sector 11-I where four attackers on two motorbikes opened fire on him from a very close range.

They said that the gunmen fled the scene leaving behind the victim in a critically wounded condition. Area people shifted the injured man to Abbasi Shaheed Hospital. According to hospital sources, the victim had received four bullets on his upper torso. They said the victim also sustained critical neck injuries after falling off from the bike.

JI spokesperson Sarfaraz Ahmed told Dawn that Mr Rasheed was the naib amir in the district central.

“He was a retired government school teacher and an active party leader,” he said.

Later, the JI leader was shifted to Aga Khan University Hospital where he was stated to be in a ‘highly precarious’ condition.

23. alam (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 1:24 pm

@iuknonwn
    >>>Pakistan will remain an islamic state doesnt matter how much secular and retard persons show their retarndness and keep blaming al-qiada for every thing

What if the state ceases to exist? would Pakistan take down Islam with it, or vice versa?

24. SELF (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 2:46 pm

Mullahs including Jamaat Islami are destroying Pakistan one step at a time under US agenda. Secularism is the only salvation for Pakistan but only if we adopt it very soon before Mullahs have sent the country down the drain completely.

“The various fundamentalist and paramilitary groups involved in US sponsored “terrorist” activities are “intelligence assets”. In the wake of 9/11, their designated function as “intelligence assets” is to perform their role as credible “enemies of America”.

Under the Bush administration, the CIA continues to support (via Pakistan’s ISI) several Pakistani based Islamic groups. The ISI is known to support Jamaat a-Islami, which is also present in South East Asia, Lashkar-e-Tayya­ba, Jehad a-Kashmiri, Hizbul-Mujahidin and Jaish-e-Mohammed.

The Islamic groups created by the CIA are also intended to rally public support in Muslim countries. The underlying objective is to create divisions within national societies throughout the Middle East and Central Asia, while also triggering sectarian strife within Islam, ultimately with a view to curbing the development of a broad based secular mass resistance, which would challenge US imperial ambitions.”

http://www.globalresearch.ca/index.php?context=va&aid=7746

25. IUnknown (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 3:36 pm

@alam ,, in ur dreams!!!

26. me (unregistered) on January 16th, 2008 @ 8:56 pm

Hope the bearded fool doesn’t die, we really don’t need any more rioting. Hang in there, pube-face!

27. wasiq (unregistered) on January 17th, 2008 @ 9:34 am

aadaab arz!

ok ask Mr Obama(D) or his campaign managers if they have ever tasted “Phajjay kay paay” with guts and stuff….

@obi

guru yeah tum ney achcha nahein kia….!

God bless america

28. Nasir Manzoor (unregistered) on January 18th, 2008 @ 11:01 am

Dear all Muslim/Pakistani Brothers & Sisters,

Assalam-o-alaikum!

I am Nasir Manzoor from Karachi, Pakistan and I’m working for Damac Properties Co. LLC. UAE as a Worldwide Marketing Agent from Karachi. I just want to inform all of Muslims (Specially to my Pakistani brothers and sisters) about this Offer/Opportunity I’m going to tell you. I’m here to tell you the save and right way on which you can save yourself and your family.

As you will know each and everything about Pakistan’s circumtances and the environment around us
    from which we are suffering and surving since last few years. Is that true we are living in a peaceful and democratic Country? We can say our lives are save in Pakistan? Can we assure ourselves that our Childrens are 100% secure?

Our beloved country Pakistan is going to the stage of hell, politicians and democrates are playing with innocent nation and just using their power for their own. They are elected only for the Chairs and positions to become a richest person in the Pakistan. Anyone of them won’t care about the Citizens’ needs and problems.

Are we save from Suicide Bomber’s Attack? Can we prevent our trades and businesses from Violence of extremists? Anyone of us know when and where a Bomb can be blast? So this is the country in which we expect to invest for property or business?

Come one … do not do this mistake ever! Our beloved Pakistan is become a land of blasts, voilence, protesting, terrorism, etc. Now we must have to leave it to save our beloved ones i.e. our childrens and family.

Now listen to me with paying your attention! I have an amazing Offer for everyone (specially for my Pakistani Brothers and Sisters). If anyone wants to buy Residential or Commercial Property in UAE with Resident Visa then don’t hesitate to contact me for further details. Don’t worry, you won’t pay anything to me, NO Commission NO nothing! You will buy something or not but you are Free from the worries of Commission.

I’m here to guide you and to provide you the correct information about Damac Properties Co. LLC. UAE. Damac is the largest private master developer in the entire Middle East which provides you the resident visa with property. You can buy property in UAE on easy installments and bank financing facility is also available from Damac Property.

The most amazing and mind-blowing features of Damac Properties are once you buy the property from Damac, you will be a Millionaire in few years and Billionaire in Future with 101% Guaranteed!

This is the property from which you can settle-down yourself very easily. Following are the brief introduction about Damac Properties:

For more details do not hesitate to contact me.

Thanks,

Best Regards,

Nasir Manzoor
    (Worldwide Marketing Agent)

Tel #: +92-21-4266486 +92-21-2024850
    Fax #: +92-21-2788772
    Mob #: +92321-2016825

E-mail: damacgroup@hotmail.com

29. Nasir Manzoor (unregistered) on January 18th, 2008 @ 11:05 am

Dear all Muslim/Pakistani Brothers & Sisters,

Assalam-o-alaikum!

I am Nasir Manzoor from Karachi, Pakistan and I’m working for Damac Properties Co. LLC. UAE as a Worldwide Marketing Agent from Karachi. I just want to inform all of Muslims (Specially to my Pakistani brothers and sisters) about this Offer/Opportunity I’m going to tell you. I’m here to tell you the save and right way on which you can save yourself and your family.

As you will know each and everything about Pakistan’s circumtances and the environment around us
    from which we are suffering and surving since last few years. Is that true we are living in a peaceful and democratic Country? We can say our lives are save in Pakistan? Can we assure ourselves that our Childrens are 100% secure?

Our beloved country Pakistan is going to the stage of hell, politicians and democrates are playing with innocent nation and just using their power for their own. They are elected only for the Chairs and positions to become a richest person in the Pakistan. Anyone of them won’t care about the Citizens’ needs and problems.

Are we save from Suicide Bomber’s Attack? Can we prevent our trades and businesses from Violence of extremists? Anyone of us know when and where a Bomb can be blast? So this is the country in which we expect to invest for property or business?

Come one … do not do this mistake ever! Our beloved Pakistan is become a land of blasts, voilence, protesting, terrorism, etc. Now we must have to leave it to save our beloved ones i.e. our childrens and family.

Now listen to me with paying your attention! I have an amazing Offer for everyone (specially for my Pakistani Brothers and Sisters). If anyone wants to buy Residential or Commercial Property in UAE with Resident Visa then don’t hesitate to contact me for further details. Don’t worry, you won’t pay anything to me, NO Commission NO nothing! You will buy something or not but you are Free from the worries of Commission.

I’m here to guide you and to provide you the correct information about Damac Properties Co. LLC. UAE. Damac is the largest private master developer in the entire Middle East which provides you the resident visa with property. You can buy property in UAE on easy installments and bank financing facility is also available from Damac Property.

The most amazing and mind-blowing features of Damac Properties are once you buy the property from Damac, you will be a Millionaire in few years and Billionaire in Future with 101% Guaranteed!

This is the property from which you can settle-down yourself very easily. Following are the brief introduction about Damac Properties:

For more details do not hesitate to contact me.

Thanks,

Best Regards,

Nasir Manzoor
    (Worldwide Marketing Agent)

Tel #: +92-21-4266486 +92-21-2024850
    Fax #: +92-21-2788772
    Mob #: +92321-2016825

E-mail: damacgroup@hotmail.com

30. PAKISTANI (unregistered) on January 18th, 2008 @ 12:06 pm

@nasir manzoor
    nice new way of rants + marketing u got there

31. SELF (unregistered) on January 18th, 2008 @ 12:32 pm

Pakistan and Islam being sold for self gain. Too late Nazir, Molvis alreayd beat you to it.

32. insaan (unregistered) on January 18th, 2008 @ 5:22 pm

also thanks the admins for letting the spam in.