Election Watch : NA-244 / Karachi – VI

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2008/02/na-244-thumb.jpgThe sixth seat for the Election Watch Series is NA-244 Karachi VI. We have previously covered NA-239, NA-240, NA-241, NA-242

Election watch on KMB is a short series of posts where look at various National Assembly seats in Karachi, we will simply short list the most prominent candidates contesting for elections and also take a quick glance at what transpired from the the 2002 elections to see the trends. Naturally we would like to see the metroblog readership also to cast your own vote, If you were going out to vote for one of these candidates who would you vote for?.

Take the poll

Free Poll by Blog Flux2008 Elections: Total number of Registered Voters 290,891 (157,867 Male & 133,024 Female). The three candidates up for elections are:

  1. Sheikh Salahudin (MQM)
  2. Ghulam Qadir (PPP)
  3. Meer Wali (MMA)
  4. Khizar Islam (ST)

2002 Elections: In the 2002 elections there were 236,700 Registered Voters in NA-244 of which 40.2% polled that day (95,248). The candidates were

  1. Syed Haider Abbas Rizvi (MQM) – 54101
  2. Dr. Meiraj-Ul-Huda (MMA) – 28559
  3. Saqib Ishtiaq Qadri (ST) 7141
  4. Javed Jabbar (National Alliance) – 2057
  5. Syed Shahenshah Ali Jafri (PPPP) – 1590

Prediction:MQM again can be predicated to take this seat, though MMA had a strong showing, even with Mairaj ul Huda contesting for this seat but with all the work done in these five years MQM can easily sweep through this seat yet again. My guesstimate MQM is 5-1 for the seats up till now, with only NA-244 going towards PPP. Hence the predicted winner should be Sheikh Salahudin of MQM

LOCATION UPDATE: NA-244 includes voters residing in Federal B Area (blocks 17, 19, 21 and parts of blocks 16, 18, 20 and 22), North Karachi (sectors 11, 12, 12-B, 12-C, 11-L, 11-I, parts of 11-F part and 11-D, Katchi abadi along nala, 11-E, parts of 11-J, 11-H, 15-B and Bengalipara New Karachi, and sectors 15-A/1, 15 A-2, 15-A/4, 15-A/3, 15-A/5 and 16-A, Buffer zone and KBR Colony

7 Comments so far

  1. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 11th, 2008 @ 3:43 pm

    Teetho unless u mention the names of areas in the jurisdiction of HALQA it will not be clear.

    93% of people in PAKISTAN – let alone Karachi does not know which area is in which ‘HALQA’

  2. Teeth Maestro (unregistered) on February 11th, 2008 @ 4:02 pm

    I agree – let me work on it a bit more – make some calls – as i too am lost as to where these roman numericals are in Karachi ;)

  3. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 11th, 2008 @ 5:53 pm

    Kha-Makha Allama banay baythoo ho …. Pata Kakh nahi :) Sab Impressed chal rahay hai Teetho election commission sai Live linked hai…!

    Dhat tayreeekeee

  4. d0ct0r (unregistered) on February 11th, 2008 @ 9:48 pm


  5. d0ct0r (unregistered) on February 11th, 2008 @ 10:00 pm

    dictator’s mouth peice nisar memon announced today that tv chans won’t be allowed to broadcast any results until election commission gives them stamped verified copy of the result…

  6. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on February 11th, 2008 @ 11:50 pm

    Jaysay aamaal – waysay hukamran… kissi ko keya blame karna , as nation we are suffering of what we have done in past and it seems it will continue like this — 2 more BIG wickets are expected to be down before 15th —

  7. d0ct0r (unregistered) on February 12th, 2008 @ 12:12 am

    BIG wickets(leaders) ? thats scary…

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.