Election Watch : NA-247 / Karachi – IX

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2008/02/na-247-thumb.jpgElection Watch Series next up is NA-247 Karachi IX. We have previously covered NA-239, NA-240, NA-241, NA-242, NA-243, NA-244, NA-245 & NA-246

The constituency NA-247 consists of Mujahid Colony, Golimar, Nazimabad, Jamhooria Colony, Nusrat Colony, Liaquatabad, Qasimabad, Khalidabad, Akramabad, Azam Nagar, Rafiqabad, Nishtar Nagar, Batwa House Firdous Colony, Khalidabad, Firdous Colony. Rizvia Colony, Usmania Colony, Waheedabad, 400 Quarter. Siddiqabad, Sarhad Ittehad Colony, 100 Quarters, Nishtar Colony, Farooqabad Ali, Shahjehanabad.

Since the new boundaries of this constituency were formed in 2002, it does overlap significantly with the results on NA-187 of yesteryear’s where MQM captured the vote bank rocking in with 93,499 votes in 1988; 111,340 votes in 1990; 62,621 votes in 1997 and finally 51,564 votes in 2002 (NA-247)

Take the poll

Free Poll by Blog Flux2008 Elections: Total number of Registered Voters 303,455 (166,134 Male & 137,321 Female). The three candidates fighting it out are:

  1. Dr. Nadeem Ehsan (MQM)
  2. Saathi Ishaque Adv (PPP)
  3. M. Ilyas Siddique Adv (MMA)

2002 Elections: In the 2002 elections there were 243,006 Registered Voters in NA-245 of which 37.4% polled that day (97,965). The candidates were

  1. Israr-Ul-Ebad Khan (MQM) – 51564
  2. Hafiz Muhammad Taqi (MMA) – 26526
  3. Syed Masood Hussain (PPPP) – 3581
  4. M. Farhat Saddqui (Sunni Tehreek) – 3559

Prediction:Looking at the detailed analysis, it may show that without Jamaat Islami contesting for this seat MQM will have a clear run to victory, but one must keep in mind the declining support in one of the strong holds of MQM. My guesstimate rises another notch for MQM at 8-1 for the seats up till now in Karachi, with only NA-239 going towards PPP. Hence the predicted winner should be Dr. Nadeem Ehsan of MQM

3 Comments so far

  1. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) on February 13th, 2008 @ 5:22 am

    Mr Political, you`re boring! and I am tired of clicking your circles. No more please!

  2. Umair H MIrza (unregistered) on February 13th, 2008 @ 2:10 pm

    loved ur research and guesstimates !!! but still hope the 12th may culprits lose big time

  3. ali (unregistered) on February 14th, 2008 @ 4:43 am

    @ Umair
    I agree with you umair 12th May culprits 27 dec culprits joint venture of ANP PPP will loose big time on 18 th Feb and MQM will win handsomely

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.