Election Watch : NA-250 / Karachi – XII

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2008/02/na-250-thumb.jpg One of the most talked about election constituency is the NA-250, Karachi XII. KMB Election watch has previously covered NA-239, NA-240, NA-241, NA-242, NA-243, NA-244, NA-245, NA-246, NA-247, NA-248 & NA-249.

The NA-250 constituency has two cantonment boards — Clifton Cantonment Board and the Karachi Cantonment Board. Generally the areas of Clifton and Defence fall into this area

Since 1988 MQM has won this seat three times, PML twice and MMA once in the total of six elections held since 1988, including the by election in 2007. In 1988 an independent candidate with the backing of MQM had won after securing 48 per cent of the total votes polled. The PPP was the third with only 16pc votes. In 1990 elections the MQM secured 53 per cent votes whereas IJI bagged 26 per cent and PPP got 22 per cent. In 1993,

In 1993 PML secured 64 per cent as the MQM boycotted the NA elections. The PPP secured 20 and the Pakistan Islamic Front (PIF) had obtained 16 per cent votes. In the 1997 elections, the PML retained the seat with 52 per cent of the votes cast, and the HPG was the runners up with 41 per cent and the PPP had secured a minimal 7pc. Finally in 2002 Abdus Sattar Afghani of MMA captured the seat barely with (21,462) and leaving behind Nasreen Jalil of MQM with (19,414) with the sad demise of the Jamaat Islami leader by-elections were held in 2007 which were easily picked up by MQM.

Take the poll

Free Poll by Blog Flux2008 Elections: Total number of Registered Voters 344,657 (203,633 Male & 141,024 Female). There has been an electoral adjustment for this seat where PML-N Candidate Saleem Zia withdrew in favor of Dr. Ikhtiar Baig. The candidates fighting it out but it seems that PPP has withdrawn in favor of MMA. So technically its a faces off between MQM and MMA:

  1. Khush Bakht Shujaat (MQM)
  2. Dr. Mirza Ikhtiar Baig (PPP)
  3. Muhammad Farooq Bangsh (ANP)
  4. Haleem Siddiqui (Indp)
  5. Muhammad Hanif (Sunni Tehrik)

2002 Elections: In the 2002 elections there were 205,400 Registered Voters in NA-245 of which 33.7% polled that day (69,235). The candidates were

  1. Abdul Sattar Afghani (MMA) – 21462
  2. Nasreen Jalil (MQM) – 19414
  3. Dr. Mirza Ikhtiar Baig (PPPP) – 12105
  4. Mamnoon Hussain (PML-N) – 5565

Prediction: This seat remains the hot bed for electioneering, Khus Bakht Shujaat has recently joined MQM and comes into the these elections with some goodwill within this community. Dr. Ikhtiar Baig combined with the BB Sympathetic vote and the PML vote bank will not prove to be enough to surmount Khush Bkhat Shujaat and the MQM factor. Combined with the definite absence of the Jamaat Islami vote bank. Talk within circles suggest that it is possible that the JI voters might just go to vote for PPP simply to uproot MQM, but I feel that might be plausible but a long shot, not enough to impact Mrs. Shujaat and her run towards fame and fortune within the ranks of MQM leadership. Hence the predicted winner should be Khush Bakht Shujaat of MQM. Hence my guesstimate tally is now MQM at 10 & PPP at 2 for the seats covered up till now on Karachi.

5 Comments so far

  1. Kamran (unregistered) on February 15th, 2008 @ 11:10 am

    Many feel that she is the Nasreen Jalil-II for MQM.

    Funny was the Billboard on Shahrah Faisal (FTC) where Altaf Hussain were seen to be so fondly looking at Khushbakht, dare I say there was some magic in those eyes, I think realizing the dubious nature of the billboard images the MQM leadership replaced it with a different configuration.

  2. IRFAN (unregistered) on February 15th, 2008 @ 4:39 pm

    just vote for MQM !!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Balma (unregistered) on February 15th, 2008 @ 7:48 pm

    I have to admit I think, or at least used to think, that Khushbakht Aliya is / was a babe.
    I remember her from her very first appearance on TV… I guess it was either Zia Mohiuddin (Pakistan’s first David Letterman) show or some college program. I think she had her own program on TV too, because I remember this incident when late actor Muhammad Ali and new comer Omer Sharif were invited…and obviously Omar Sharif made some real chhichoraa comment on Muhammad Ali ( I don’t remember what exactly) and Khushbakht babe had to jump in and ‘DaanTed’ Omar Sharif and asked him to behave.
    I hope she wins….even though now she looks like real ammaa jee :-)

  4. br0ke (unregistered) on February 16th, 2008 @ 5:35 pm

    what is mqm?

  5. A for [pine]Apple (unregistered) on February 19th, 2008 @ 12:25 pm

    Aur Cycle puncture hogayi …
    Cycle Puncture hogayi …

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2009 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.