Pillars of bridge collapsed
Two pillars of a bridge at Karsaz Road have collapsed today morning.
According to initial reports, two cars have been trapped under the rubble. Rescue teams have been sent at the scene of the incident.
Anyone coming across from that area please post the details and of course, be careful!
via [Geo News]
Well someone just died and another one seriously injured. Apparently it turns out that the temporary pillar was loosely fitted and slipped– “criminal negligence” of highest degree.
The Unique Quality Of Pakistan Is That ‘ Everything Fell Down ‘
Whether It’s Government, Economy, Utility Providing Services, Activists On Roads, Stock Markets, Rupee Value, Health, Job, Education, Buildings, And Today Another Two Pillars Of A Bridge At Karsaz Road, Shahra-e-Faisal Karachi.
‘ Must Come Down ‘ This Is What Government Is Following. But Please Someone Inform Government About The First Part Of The Theory, Which Is ‘ What Goes Up ‘ …..
Luckily The Nation Know The Response From Government, Which Will Be " WHAT "
Best Mayor eh!
The bridge which was being build was a special purpose one and was not intended to cater general public( just to kill them ;)) . It was to be used only by the air fore personal when they wanted to travel from one side of Shahra-e-faisal to the other side.
Usually contracts for these kinds of bridges are given to some favorite contractors as no bye laws apply to them as oppose to CDGK who are bound to publish open tender in news paper. As these are not transparent thus who ever acquire them wants to make most out of it and thus bypass many precautions and procedures necessary and in the end theses kinds of incident occur. Being a lawyer one of my client were one of the affectees of Shershah bridge collapse in which we have sued NHA, NESPAK and Federal Government( the case is still pending in SHC) as we did our research we came to know about how irregularly contracts are awarded and executed and every person from a clerk to the chief executive and even the local influential have a interest in it and thus tries his best to make some out of it and thus a mixture of every one greedy interest is created waiting to devour innocent people at the end when the incident occur the whole rubble falls on the poor engineer who is temporarily suspended an inquiry is conducted which is confidential (again in many case he also is not blamed too because he had made records of all irregularities high ups have committed so he too gets away by black mailing them) and after few days of hot air the world renowned Pakistani amnesia kicks in and we forget all about it.
and now call us ANTI MQM, anti progress and anti all , call us pessimist when we try to point out something wrong.
My friends who know me must have had in mind that every time i was driving over that bridge i would say GOD HELP US. . . . its on a matter of time
EVERYONE and the Author
This is NOT the Karsaz bridge, this is the bridge being built on PAF Base Faisal,east of Karsaz Rd (Between Karsaz and COD).
It is a great loss and someone should be held accountable and punished to the max.
so the "No 2 Best mayor in the world" has done his magic
salute to MQM for providing us with salvage
hope "Altaf bhai" gonna call the mayor
and yes, this time he deserves "Two CHUMMAAS" (two kisses)
LOL
the hate against MQM and mohajirs are quite obvious as the people litter with hate and tassub don’t even try to find out what really happened,
they started thrashing MQM without any proof, ironically the author of this post didn’t even try to check the fact and starts the blog with the title
"Pillars of bridge collapsed".
Sadly the anti MQM cronies who were trying to spit on the moon will wipe their faces from their own spit after reading what really happened.
The tripod that was installed by the workers working on the project suddenly collapsed and results in an accident.
No pillar of the bridge has been collapsed.
http://jang.com.pk/jang/jan2009-daily/03-01-2009/up18.gif
More interestingly the people working there and installed the machinery are all non mohajirs un skillful workers of Punjab and Serhad,
This blog is a very good example of " parhay likhay jahil " who start commenting before checking the facts. Surprisingly the authors are included in those.
Thanks Khalid90 for highligthing the real story, i just saw the video on Dawn news as well of that tripod falling on the taxi in which the driver died… very unfortunate.
@Mr.MB i would like to know how did you drive on a " bridge " which never existed ?
you guys are freaking awesome at playing the blame game. i gotta give it to you "concerned pakistanis" or "prahay likhay jahil". get ur facts right before commenting and start blaming. sab ek se barh kar eh hain.
I can;t stop laughing on this ….. :)
GEO did report "gardar of under construction pull collapsed". So they again they proved how inefficient and bigger lairs they are.
I passed by the bridge today at evening and was amazed to see everything intact. Then latter saw the true story on Dawn news.
So GEO again they proved how inefficient and bigger lairs they are. And it seems they are now after Mustafa Kamal.
@MB Yes ur s ANTI MQM, anti progress. Ur post shows sooooo :)
Interestingly no comments from Dog-tor and adnan siddiqui …….
Retards!!!!
pure political influenced reporting here, and also on the THE NEWS !
One girder fell and unfortunately a man was killed ! heres what THE NEWS reported
One killed as bridge girder collapsed in Karachi
and then says
KARACHI: One person was killed when a grider of an under-construction bridge was fallen on a taxi at Shahrah-i-Faisal near Karsaz.
Retards dont even know the difference between a thing falling an collapsing !!!
http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=63947
Good comment MB !!
well it was your fault , you were driving on an under construction bridge !!!
its surprising that you came out of it alive !
SHUT UP, MB
You Pisser-e-Zameen Sorts are always blaming us Mohajirs and MQM for all sort of things and time is close when you and your clan will be forced to go back to your chaks and villages…..
The proposed bridge was constructed by Pakistan Air Force and the blames lies squarely on them. GET OUT OF KARACHI
This article will haunt many, but at the end hate will prevail.
lo, aap apnay daam mein sayyad aa gaya. lol on luns
I am not sure but who administers/edit KMB? Please explain why Farrukh Ahmed should not be suspended of writing on KMB atleast for some token period of time for this farce. No matter how the news was reported on GEO, a KMB author has to exercise some due diligence before reporting it on MB.
If the sensational value of a news trump everything, why not look at some urdu evening newspapers and report some of that too. I am sure there is more interesting news there. This is not "The Onion". This is KMB.
He mentioned Karsaz dude thats the bride i mentioned about.
In any case since i had seen it being repaired months within its construction i am damn sure the "HIGH STANDARD" applied in its construction.
MQM dushman her cheez ka lilzaam MQM per laga ker khush hotay hain magar haqiqat aati hay to hamaisha ki tehran bizzat hotay hain.
Soon they will left karachi singing
Baray Be Abroo ho ker teray kochai sai nikaly
:0)
@ srhasan
Yeh hi to hay bhai MQM dushmani
Jab correct report aa gaye kai pillars nahi girray tab bhi yeh post na to close ki gaye na remove kion kai yahan kai kuch logo ka pasandida mashghala hay MQM per kicher uchalna aur wo aisi fake posts bana ker yeh kaam ker rahay hain .
@srhasan. Totally with you that. There should be some sort of check on these people who are spreading hate by giving false news. The authors here like anti Pakistan matter to spread asap. I wonder what sentiments do you have for Pakistan …
Quote MB
He mentioned Karsaz dude thats the bride i mentioned about.
In any case since i had seen it being repaired months within its construction i am damn sure the "HIGH STANDARD" applied in its construction.
Unquote
useless comment up there it carries no weight.
@ MB !
Only two bridges have collapsed in Karachi in recent times,
One was at Shershah , Second was Railway bridge near Steel mill ( Due to blast) Why dont you mention them also, !
and Why stop here ! also mention if you or any of your friend’s house Contractors used substandard material,!!
What is this some kind of encyclopedic Competition going on around here?!
the hate against MQM and mohajirs are quite obvious as the people litter with hate and tassub don’t even try to find out what really happened,
they started thrashing MQM without any proof, ironically the author of this post didn’t even try to check the fact and starts the blog with the title
"Pillars of bridge collapsed".
Sadly the anti MQM cronies who were trying to spit on the moon will wipe their faces from their own spit after reading what really happened.
The tripod that was installed by the workers working on the project suddenly collapsed and results in an accident.
No pillar of the bridge has been collapsed.(2)
What really frustrates me is that,
“the more we try to reconcile; try to forgive and forget and even change our policies to integrate – more assholes like MB comes up with his anti-Mohajir and anti-Karachi crap and we are forced to reconsider – I consider them as “enemy” …”
Drill tripod crushes taxi, kills man
http://www.dawn.com/2009/01/04/local3.htm
So it was not pillars of bridge that collapsed. Anyways for both pro / anti MQM: In a city the size of Karachi, even under the exemplary leadership of a mayor like Mustafa Kamal, mishaps will happen, people will make mistakes, there will still be corruption and somebody somewhere will screw up, that might be a govt official, a contractor, a supplier, an architect or an engineer. Even a process can be found to be faulty despite best efforts of the individuals involved. So MQM guys need not be overly defensive. We are citizens of Pakistan and CDGk is bound to screw up somehow somewhere, it’s the overall performance that counts. On the other hand the anti-MQM crowd may do well by not behaving like carnivores all set for ambush.
In this case there is clearly a lapse of safety standards being observed at the job site, which resulted in a needless loss of a precious life. The news report says:
The area SHO, Inspector Chaudhry Amir, told Dawn that a case (FIR 8/2009) was registered against the city government’s contractor under Sections 319 (qatl-i-khata committed by negligence), 337-A (1) (act with the intention of causing hurt), 337-H (2)(endangering human life or the personal safety of others by a rash or negligent act), and 427 (mischief causing damage to the amount of Rs50 of above) on the complaint of the deceased’s son, Syed Kamal Hussain Shah.
The police said the city government had given the contract for the construction of the bridge at the Shah Faisal base to a contractor. They said the contractor had not taken the precautionary measures while installing the drill tripod at the site.The police said that one of the poles of the tripod was not properly anchored. They said that the ropes or chains were not tied to the tripod’s poles for its firm anchoring.
Meanwhile, sources said the CDGK had contacted the victims’ families to offer them compensation.
So the contractor is being booked, but I still feel that we have a long way to go as a nation to give due priority to observing safety standards and being safety conscious. This collective dare devil attitude results in god nows how many lives needlessly lost. Just count the bike riders wearing a helmet, our labourers work without the luxury of hart hats or shoes, our buildings are a death trap in case of fire or emergency. There is a term in civilised world known as "Workplace Safety Standards", less said the better