Costa Coffee shuts down operations

Costa Coffee closes down

In what may have been a three years of splendid coffee [covered by KMB in 2005 when it opened its doors], Costa Coffee has closed its operations across Karachi [& across Pakistan, as I am informed] as of January 1st 2009.

The location at Zamzama stands deserted, with a lone guard manning the front door probably to keep any stray coffee addicts away from rancoffee-beansacking the joint. The location at both D-Marts is deserted as well. Though the official statement [as narrated by the guard on duty] is that they have ‘closed down for renovations’, but the other competing coffee house ‘down the street’ narrates a story of tremendous business losses, as practically everything was being imported from abroad and sustainability in this economic down turn did not bode well for the Pakistani operations.

I for sure will miss out on its coffee …. but more importantly Pakistan also stands to loose on this franchise, as it would surely not set a good example for other similar ventures in the future.

17 Comments so far

1. tbaweja on January 7th, 2009 @ 10:32 pm

RIP Costa Coffee.

lets look out elsewhere for the roasted beans with whip cream. =)

2. Syed Johny (johny) on January 7th, 2009 @ 10:43 pm

Well !
    I see that as good news,

We need to to have Pakistani brands, and should use Pakistani stuff !

All this imported Extravaganza in Pakistan is a huge loss to lifelyhood of Pakistani people, and the Economy , !

We need to start a campaign of "Made in Pakistan", like India did in last decade! to push our production forward !

3. Syed Johny (johny) on January 7th, 2009 @ 10:45 pm

By the way Dmart did look dull ! with light off at Costa Coffe

4. Kashif Aziz (kashaziz) on January 8th, 2009 @ 12:54 am

I guess its time for Starbucks to enter the market. IMHO SB is far better than Costa.

5. human01 on January 8th, 2009 @ 9:13 am

Star-Bucks, Kashif bro, you ready to pay $3.25+Tax (around Rs.350+) for just a medium size black coffee cup and around Rs.600~700 for the fancy Latte’s they have. Also during last few years, Starbucks has become very controversial name in Muslim countries due to its affiliation with Israel. So I would say, look for Tim Horton or any other coffee chain if you like…..or as Johny suggested….have our own desi coffee chain….at least majority of the people would be able to afford it, without spending a fortune on just a cup of coffee…

6. bukhari on January 8th, 2009 @ 1:45 pm

my experience is that there ain’t many local coffee shop brands who can differentiate from mocha to latte properly… experimentation is out of question..
    We are in serious need of someone who ‘knows’ what coffee is and will love it if that’s local..

7. Raheel Lakhani (raheel07) on January 8th, 2009 @ 2:58 pm

I am not a fan of the Buy Pakistani argument because at the end of day, the whole world is getting driven by the bug of consumerism. At the same time, I feel that the ‘Israel’ notion is so overrated though pricing does support my hate for consumerist behavior. Above all, I am proud that Karachi has a place like T2F.

8. fizdosani on January 8th, 2009 @ 6:22 pm

that coffee did not set any impression however it was a good dating point.
    now again Mazar-e-Quaid Zindabad.

9. farzal on January 8th, 2009 @ 11:43 pm

The 1 at DMart was always 50% full – in most cases, nearly 100%. I must have gone there more than a dozen times. The service was pretty slow but coffee was good. A few times I went to Zamzama and Shujaat branch, they were also pretty decently full.

What’s been your experience?

Roasters and Cafe Coffee Day never matched the quality and variety of Costa..

10. بستنی (wasiq) on January 9th, 2009 @ 9:18 am

I am so sorry….should have not taken the second cup…somebody is always watching….!
    Btw its a simple investment move….don’t take it as a dessertion guys..!

ps: aaj newspaper ki chotti hai ya bandh ho giya…lol!

11. champ707 on January 9th, 2009 @ 1:02 pm

I am not really sad at this.

Anybody who was planning to visit Costa or does that regularly should donate tht ‘unspended’ money. Somebody will be able to buy food for 2 days at the cost of our coffee.

Just a thought

12. Kashif Aziz (kashaziz) on January 9th, 2009 @ 3:57 pm

@human01: Taking Dubai prices as benchmark, I would say a tall latte of SB should not cost more than Rs. 300. If you want to taste "real" coffee, that price is affordable. Otherwise, there are hundreds of "espresso" machines across the city.

As for affiliation with Israel, bhai, there are so many other brands that should be shunned as well.

13. بستنی (wasiq) on January 9th, 2009 @ 11:12 pm

@champ 707….
    nahein sab mein toh uss money sey motorcycle loun ga…aur jo paisey bachchein gay unn ki dilpasand rabri khaoun ga….you are welcome to do whatever you like with yours…

@siddiqi sab kmb mein nai gaanth kholi hai zara check kar kay batana mall kaisa hai…mujhey toh aik dam solid dekhta hai…!

14. fareen on January 11th, 2009 @ 12:22 pm

I, for one, have never liked the coffee at Starsucks ~ahem~ Starbucks…
    Espresso is pretty darn good – and the owner is quite organized. Let’s hope all is not lost and at least Espresso remains operational..

15. fareen on January 11th, 2009 @ 12:23 pm

By the way, I’ve invested in a coffee maker and have been enjoying my own brewed coffee – for months now. Seems it’s the way to go even more so now.

16. بستنی (wasiq) on January 12th, 2009 @ 5:09 pm

pure sign of intelligence…..left over brewed bhi challey gi….dooh din purani na ho…!

17. dilkadr on February 4th, 2009 @ 10:28 am

So sad news