Lawyers menace on shahra-e-faisal
Anyone planing to go out of city or to receive a relative or friend from the airport can forget about it.
The lawyers’ movement is once again making sure it does all in its power to agitate the commuters on the busiest road of the city.
Shahra-e-faisal is closed for public traffic beyond the Drigh Road station due to a demonstration by the lawyers. Traffic is being diverted on Rashid Minhas Road which is causing great inconvenience to the commuters. A friend called and said he had to navigate through Gulshan to get to his home across the airport.
yes yes
it badly effected our economy!
our GDP just went down!
value of rupee declined!
complete chaos!!
Farrukh Ahmad bhai , cant you observe more "easier" observations??
do you know that majority of these lawyers live upon daily wages??
they earn a hundred or two and keep their families up!!
what about the sacrifice they are giving?
they just blocked the road and intrupted the trafic!
thats it!
you accept it or not they have a million of fans and they are probably the one who could light up a revolution in the upcoming future!!
a revolution is a head of us!! view it through the specs of democracy!indivdualy in onself!!
SALMAN SIDDIQUI
PEACE
Chief Teray Jaan Nisar
bay Shymar, Bay Shumar :D
im a proud participant of Long March ;)
Salman Bro, you mentioned about the financial challenges of the lawyers, so is this long march is all about this…if that’s the justification, then there should be similar long marches happening everyday for every suffering fraction of the society…..
BTW the CJ that has BEYSHUMAR JANNISAR is no different then the rest of the herd….part & active player of the same corrupt judiciary/every system we have…..so rest assure that the revolution these guys will bring (if any) would not be any different then a sham democracy replaced by another one…..
so it’s all about lawyers or Shahra-e-Faisal or the airport? We faced similar or even worst situation when Musharraf used to visit the city and making thousands to suffer during traffic Jams. Many got expired in ambulances because traffic police provided no "safe passage" for aam awam like rulers or dictators provide safe passages to each other.
Thats interesting……i was on SF too and reached home safely and the CJP qafila went just 15 min ahead of my time. May be it was the other side since SF is long enough
safely = conveniently.
Yes they did slowed down the traffic i witnessed too but compare that to what "others" did….. and they are doing it for people not for POWER like the evil MUSH and corrupt ZARDARI , again thanks to MUSH’s NRO that
I pity these lawyers, pata nai kis dhakan qoam ke liye ye log itni mehnat ker rahe hain
HASSAN NISAR is right
We deserve it
http://columnpk.wordpress.com/2009/01/17/hassan-nisar-people-of-pakistan-deserve-it/
a bit on the rite!
a bolt from the blue aain!:P
ham be to wakkeel hain!
kbi ksi ki to kbi apni wakalat krty hain!
yar kuch nahi tto they do desrve a tap on the shoulder for awaring people though in a low quantity!
Farrukh Shahrea Faisal is closed from Drigh Road Junction to Karsaz since last evening. It was announced and i heard it at 5.30 PM on some FM channel.
Though the scummbags are ruining the traffic all over be it Mulla, political Urchins, or lawyers the 1st affect of Mess is the Traffic in Karachi main throughfares.
How many of us saw the former CJ on TV last night at midnite, his face has become more lined, his eyes more squint then before and despair is clearly visible in his body language. – Let alone the case of Farah Hameed Dogar has been justified ………..! SHE will continue to be an MBBS student till she becomes a legal butcher with no accountability like her father,……….
cheers ….. Democracy prevails.
@ MB
Lawyers are also from this "dhakan" society !
The Judges are too from the same!
The current judges and those in protest are the same but with different time frame!
The fired/retired/jobless ones took the oath under the same general in 1999, replacing the ones who didnt, their own doing came and bit them in their asses in 2008,
what the fuck are they protesting for!??!
what rules ?! waht regulations!? they dont even accept that their oath taking in 1999 was also against constitution ,
They dont recognize the fact that they are the same judges who gave ruling in favor of the then chief Executive General in the Coup, and legally attested the Coup!
you are right !
Pakistani Awaam dhakan hay !
ek saal say ziada memory span nahi hay kisi ka bhi !
including you !!
Even if getting stuck in traffic for a month assure or helps movement for justice then I’m ready to take the offer with the biggest smile on my face
you dumb asses who think that free and vibrant judiciary is just a secondary thing are idiots and I feel sorry for you
If western societies are on top of us then it’s mainly because of their free, fair and vibrant judicial system that protects lives and properties of their citizens
Also, one of the biggest reasons for Islam’s success it’s fair justice system as oppose to the might is right law
Plus, I can’t understand why on the earth we are more than willing to raise our voices against injustice to Palestinians but we can’t stand sitting in the cars for some time for the very same thing, THE JUSTICE!!
durranee, it is not about justice or judicial system it is only about ONE INDIVIDUAL the kana iftekhar chohdry.
if it is about judicial system why lawyers are not making noise on case of farah hameed dogar who has been rewarded 2 marks on One mark question that too answered wrong – http://ejang.jang.com.pk/1-19-2009/pic.asp?picname=01_07.gif
sesky, the sole demand from lawyers is to restore November 2nd Judiciary including Chief Justice Choudhry
They never said restore CJ Iftikhar and do what you want they want November 2nd Judiciary (which means they’re ready to accept crooks like dogar in there) because no one has the right to sack the judges in that manner, Judges can only be sacked by supreme judicial council!
Plus, there is always one guy who takes the stand and the rest follow him! so the honorable CJ Choudhry as a ‘figure’ is very very important for the cause of independent judiciary
about Farah Dogar, When lawyers see this judiciary as Ultra-Constitutional then whatever judgment they pass is worth no more than a piece of paper to wipe your ass with
@ durranee
You seem to have well understood the lawyers movement and its significance for the future of Pakistan.
Fully agree with you when you say: "If western societies are on top of us then it’s mainly because of their free, fair and vibrant judicial system that protects lives and properties of their citizens."
I would like to add here that they achieved all this by struggling for it. Their judges made great sacrifices to establish rule of law in their country. Classic example of this is of Sir Thomas More who refused to give a decision in favour of Henry the 8th for which he was hanged (Read the book A Man For All Season or watch its movie which is available on DVD for full details) and another example is of Sir Coke who sufferred 6 months imprisioment for not giving a decision in favour of the King.
LOL Nov 2 Judiciary
the people sitting inside courts on Nov 2 were all PCO judges and till now more 90 % judges sacked on 2 Nov has been restored.
The lawyers are the most corrupt entity in Pakistan Nawaz Sharif is giving them money other wise how these corrupt lawyers living with out doing anything from last many months?
I saw the lawyers and iftikhar chudgaye Karawan about 2000- 3000 plp came to receive him and the lawyers failed to fill even the pindal they erected for PCO Judge Ifikhar chudgaye aka kana dajjal
I will keep my comments on this as polite as possible out of respect for kabirdas.
Indeed its a struggle for the rule of law in the most unruly and foul mouthed manner. A struggle high lighted by fist fights, beating of colleagues and unsavory language. Plus, setting objectives far beyond scope at the most un-opportune time in the history of this country.
The stage looked like a (dhakam peli) guldasta of faces enveloping Iftikhar, each desperaqte to get televised and the channels doing their part, trying to make the crowd as big as possible, with carefully positioned camera angels.
Now I hear that both PPP and League lawyers are getting ready for fist fights. I dont know how much more down the drain this country can go.
khaled90,
There is always a start isn’t there?
or may be you can come up with a better and practicle idea on how to solve the issue of free and vibrant judiciary?
It’s easy to critisize and go away but to come up with a good solution!
About PCO judges, the current PCO is yet to be validated by the parliment, that means it isn’t the part of constitution at all (till now)
but that old one was validated by the constitution and is better known as 17th amendment
So here we are, ready to take a step forward and you’re still complaining with no clues on what to do! (providing that you’re in favor of free judiciary)
Some Start!
Enabling return of the thieves, triggering the flight of capital, halting the whole privatization and investment process and aiding the forces of chaos and terrorism to achieve their objectives.
In present day Pakistan even if the judiciary gets independence, it would not be anything more than another black mailing mafia. Also, it cannot ever be the government.
Ironically, we said good bye to independent judiciary, the day we got independence. It is not in our culture to be just. This country does not need any more of this idealistic nonsense, we need to employ and retain "kaam ke loag", work hard and let the middle classses get stronger.
Meantime for justice people will continue to hire judges. However, those who are not for sale, were always there and will be there in the future.
@ kaami on January 20th, 2009
I am grateful and flattered by your opening remark. Kaami bhai, overall I respect your views about host of other issues. I really do. We both seem to have a lot in common. However, I fail to see why on this particular matter we are not seeing eye to eye. Not only we are not seeing eye to eye, we are seeing 180 degree opposite to each other.
I have never been interested in politics or current affairs as such. It is only after the incident of 9 March that I suddenly started taking some interest in Pakistani politics. This incident caught my imagination and fired me up so much that I put my reading on hold and started writing in various blogs including Washingtonpost and Guardian mostly on this issue. You may be amused to know that before this I even didn’t know what a Blog was:-)
Kaami I have this lazy habit of thinking when I am not reading. So when I started thinking about this particular issue I came to the conclusion that if Pakistan has to survive it has got to have rule of law. I know Aitazaz Ahsan at personal level but my support for lawyers movement has nothing to do with my equation with him as such. As a matter of fact I never met him during the course of this movement. My support for this movement is purely for the survival of Pakistan. This is an opportunity for us to establish a principal which will put us on the path of achievibg a true democracy in our wretched country.
Kaami:
Tell me whether or not we lack rule of law in this country.
Tell me aren’t we at a serious risk if we don’t have a rule of law in this country.
Tell me if the demand for Shariah etc is not mainly due to lack of rule of law in Pakistan.
Tell me is it possible to keep a movement absolutely violence free.Please name some including the ones led by Ganghi which were voilence free.
Doesn’t he end justifies the means used to achieve it.
Please feel absolutely free to express your views in the manner you like. You will not offend me as long as your views are based on reason and not on some prejudice or emotions.
By the way the other day I came across a quote of my Guru, Bertrand Russell, which says: ‘All movements go too far.’ I wonder why he said it or what he meant by it. I will try to find out in what context he said it?
Take care
Kaami you asked a very pertinent question: " I dont know how much more down the drain this country can go."
I am surprised you don’t know the answer to this simple question. The answer Kaami Bhai is that it will go down the drain all the way in such a way that its brief history may become just a footnote of the history of the subcontinent. BTW by nature I am not a pessimist.
@ Duranee
Yes there is always a start.
The Judge Iftikhar chudgae was a family friend of Mushy, he used to go to Army house with his wife to meet mushy family, His son was used to drive BMW i wonder how a judge son can afford this, more over Iftikhar chudgae used to present petrol receipts of a pump who didn’t sold petrol,
The corrupt Judge when caught started the soo called struggle and the political parties who wants to destabilize the system used him and lawyers, Nawaz Sharif actively paying to lawyers to get himself clear so that he can become PM.
now PPPP once active for ifti chudgae now deserted him and the same would happen if nawaz came into power he clears himself and dump the corrupt kana dajjal judge into the dust bin or might kill him like hakim saeed and put the blame on MQM
That chief can never come back TAKE A NOTE !
He is now Genda Anda Rotten Egg,
http://air16.blogspot.com/
My dear fellow beware of the ides of March!!
Hail to the chief!!