The Story of Sabra

Her hair knotted, her jeans as dirty as it could get, completely worn-out, with sticking coming off from some places, and an old tee shirt, which too as dirty and ragged as her paints hung loosely on her bony shoulders. I spotted her sitting on a heap of garbage, having some rotten fruits probably thrown away by some pushcart vendor, near my uncle’s house in New Karachi.  “Who is she ? ”  When i asked my uncle, her sad story was narrated to me.

Sabra was a maid and her husband was killed in a bomb blast some years back in Karachi, leaving behind all the responsibilities of their only son on his wife’s frail shoulders but she didn’t  gave-up and worked endlessly day and night from house to house, and even got her son enrolled in a privet school. Her dream was to see her son as a doctor.

For three years, she struggled hard and with all her might, held straight and remained strong for her son, who was now in class 4. but then one unfortunate afternoon her son never returned home from the school. She looked for him every where, the police was contacted but days passed and then after over a week someone told her about a “BABA” a spiritual healer or tantrik or so called Buzurg somewhere in the Sadar area who could help her find her child.

sabra who by now had almost completely lost her hope thought this might be her only way to re-united with her lost child so she went to this BABA who told the women that her child was alive and has been kept captive in a house but to tell the location he demanded a lac rupees within seven days, he predicted that the captives might kill the child or move him to a different location after that period of time so she has to be quick in bringing him the money.

This women still didn’t gave up and went door to door begging for money but in seven days she could only manage to sum up an amount of a little more then sixty thousand rupee, She went to the BABA with the money she had collected but was returned being told to bring the remaining amount so a Chillah (Ritual) could take place to find her son. After two days Sabra returned to BABA with another installment of money she was still a twenty thousand short. but this time The BABA kept the money and told her to visit him again, day after at night.

That night when she went back to this BABA she was told that she was too late to bring him the money, and his Chillah (Ritual) relieved that her son has been killed. The news was such a shock to this women that for days she remained in her little hut and when she finally appeared she had already lost her mental balance. since then she lives on the streets, and eats from the garbage, she often shrieks in mad rage,ripping apart her clothes and shouting all sorts of foul words.

It has been several months now since i had seen Sabra sitting on that garbage heap, but today i don’t know why i have been thinking of her all day, i don’t know why i felt she needed a mention on this Women’s day today, i don’t know how many others like her are on our streets or in rehabilitation centers. I don’t know but i know that she was not someone who would have given-up so easily Only if she was given a fair chance. i am sorry Sabra you tried your very best but we all failed you.

19 Comments so far

1. Irz*kia*hei (unregistered) on March 9th, 2010 @ 9:51 am

A poignant story, my heart & prayers go for her, made me really sad, eventhough most of us failed to help her & so many in similar situation. By donating few thousand to Edhi or some other charity is not going to solve the problem until we personally get involved but also the system need to be altered. A reminder how broken the system has become which has failed so many, how so many like her suffer so much and yet you read & hear horrific crimes being committed everyday with more ferocity and statements from authorities are issued that we will severly punish the perpetrators, which almost never happens, as they never get caught, if by any luck they do, our justice system is so antiguated & corrupt, these criminals are allowed to walk free. Allama P make note from Arrivals this is a Dajjali system (British passed on system) no one will get any justice until we re write our own just system & get rid of these corrupt politican/ system.

2. Allama Pajama (unregistered) on March 9th, 2010 @ 10:23 am

@ irz.

man..i m too down after reading the story to wrtie more…but, all i say is…this is the harami pun of our own society…it has nothing to do wid dajjal or any other statue of iblees we make of……unless we have good humans n a good system this wud happen….be it islam n muslims or west n westren countries.

where is dajjal in this story who stops us form helping that women now…or when his kid was kidnapped…or that BABA can he be caught…?? or who were the bomb plaenters.

sir these all were us..and many of these didnt involved the jsutice system…

if people cud manage 80,000 for her…they wudnt be some tutpoonjiya people…they wud be weatlhy enough peolple right…??

what if a masi of yours or a relative came to you to ask for , say atleast 10-20 k as acontribution to the lakh she wanted to give to a baba….wud you give it….??

i wont….i wud tell her what a fraud the baba is…call teh police..or visit the baba myself….

sir…with due respct to all….insaniyaat dajjal na nai hum sab me khud khatam hoti jaa rahi hai……we just tend to creat fake status of iblees or dajaal to balme for our own follies

allah hum sab pe reham karay…aur hum jo log kuch ker saktay hain un ki ankh kholay aur un ko society ki madaad kerna ki taofeek ata farmai

3. بستنی (wasiq) on March 9th, 2010 @ 11:41 am

Wow !

4. Imr@n (unregistered) on March 9th, 2010 @ 11:56 am

Well i would say here that the now we are getting least bother, what is happening across us. And media has a big role in that, every day we see a channel there is a same news blast, kidnapping, murder and we are getting use to it, that it is nothing to Us.

These things make us feel sad for the time we read or hear that story, and than we are lost in our own world and dont think for actions.

As far as judicary is concern, the time they make the judgment, you will see that the man has passed 10 years back.

5. Allama Pajama (unregistered) on March 9th, 2010 @ 12:27 pm

@ wasiq

what you woing at dude…??

@ rest of you

hum sab ko afia sadiki buhat yaad ati hai….hai bechari etc etc…although we already know she is 80 % if not 100 % the culrpit wid a shady background…..

hamray kisi maulvi ya siasi party ko yeh apn isarkon me reengnay walay keeray nazar nai atay.

sali hypocrate manhoos qoum….jahan train, plane aur bus late ati hu…ya tu sala azaab bhi late hu chuka…dont knwo since when it is pending for us…jub bastiyan ki bastiyan ulat di jain gi.

are the words not true or are we not worth even the wrath

6. faraz (unregistered) on March 9th, 2010 @ 1:25 pm

@ Jamash, Report her to Edhi they will pick her up and provide shelter & treatment this way she will have a chance to get back to life.

7. Rehan (unregistered) on March 9th, 2010 @ 7:17 pm

All is not lost, young generation do have sense of responsibility and they do care about their own people, its just not happening because of our laid back attitude, if you wanna do something then don’t wait for anything, just do it before you change your mind.

I must say generation before us is pretty pathetic. They have done nothing.

8. Irz*kia*hei (unregistered) on March 9th, 2010 @ 7:31 pm

Allama P, look at the bigger picture my friend, BIGGER PICTURE, remember not that long ago when lawyers were out for reinstatement of CJ & now he’s here what’s changed? ZERO…you know why because the system we follow is so corrupt to the root, how we got that system? NO INSAAF! If there was insaaf, there wouldn’t have been any hanging of Bhutto, the best leader of our recent history who was working on independent pakistan, OIC & atomic power Henry Kissenger threatened Bhutto(dual Israeli & US national) who still run the US government, Gen Zia took power on American behest, created Taleban, introduced heroin, klashinkov, guns, intolerence killings. Basically destroyed Pakistan, Sabra’s husband was killed in a bomb blast!

The system is from British Raj(now taken over by US), read their history, East India Company coming & taking over with deception this was the start of their rule on India. Com’on re invest some more time & rewatch arrivals, trust me you will learn something new and come to know whats going on.

9. بستنی (wasiq) on March 9th, 2010 @ 7:32 pm

Wow !
    (Duplicate comment detected; it looks as though you’ve already said that!)

10. Allama Pajama (unregistered) on March 9th, 2010 @ 9:53 pm

@ IRZ

lemme make the picture much much bigger for you sir, if bhutto had not done his ugly things, which had nothign to do wid jews…he wudnt had been out of awamz good books.

was liaquat ali khan, skinder mirza, bogra, ghulam muhamad..all were also on jews payroll…

lets rewind more…..mir jaffar, bhadur shah zaffar, bhagat singh, nehru, gandhi…how many of them were on there payroll…??

was jahangir also a culprit to grant access to east india company….was he bribed by jews too….???

sir when wud we learn to take responsibilty for our black deeds.

as i said..i am a true follower of consipiracy theroeis…i belive they are fiannciers of many a things inculding osamabin ladin, saddam husain, khemini, naurega, pinochet, suharto, marcos, ziaulhaq etc etc….but i can NEVER absolve of my own people for there own misdeed.

sirf dosray ko bura keh ker khud ko farishat sabit kerna is the biggest lie sir…thats the biggest conspiracy in itself.

ibleef ka putla bana ker sirf us pe pathar mut maroo yaar…iblees tu hum sab ke dilon me rehta hai….apnay dil me jhankoo..usay dhondo aur usay maroo….why do we serch for iblees away form us.

kabhi is conspiracy theory per bhi gor kijiye ga

11. Allama Pajama (unregistered) on March 9th, 2010 @ 9:54 pm

@ wasiq

“duplicate”

janay de ustaad double hai double hai

12. بستنی (wasiq) on March 10th, 2010 @ 1:57 am

13. Adnan (unregistered) on March 10th, 2010 @ 6:02 am

Makes me really wonder…. Does God really exist? and if he does, whats he really up to?

14. chichoora (unregistered) on March 10th, 2010 @ 11:53 am

jamash tum khud kaysay insan ho insan ho bhi k nahi story telling mai mastery kari hai bakwas tou kar di magar hadood arba nahi bataya yeah city blog hai ya tumahara personal story page?? mujhay tou reality sai zeyada tumahara apna maazi ki bazgasht lagti hai

15. Afreen (afreen) on March 10th, 2010 @ 10:50 pm

A very good post, Jamash!

16. Sketcher (unregistered) on March 12th, 2010 @ 8:03 am

Sad..no value of human life in our country…I wish I could fix all the problems myself

17. Irz*kia*hei (unregistered) on March 15th, 2010 @ 11:05 am

Ok I am back, Allama P I take your point, I am always in favour of looking at your own faults before blaming others and unfortunately when it comes to Pakistan list goes on & on, but you punish according to crime! yes, do you agree, a line need to be drawn somewhere. So his crime was so huge to hang him on false accusations? or because all pro USA parties supported his departure & created perfect conditions with $$ & propaganda for pure greed & selfish reasons. Obviously no one will admit as we are too pure to do that. I was a child at his time so I didn’t know Bhutto however he left a will & few books a legacy check it out & you will know yourself. Those who have studied have admitted, a close friend from khi (used to be a jamati supporter, now dumped it) & calls Bhutto the best thing happened to Pakistan, I have to agree with him. I will enlighten you one day what you call “jews” & conspiracy theories, some other time.

18. Francisco (unregistered) on March 21st, 2010 @ 11:21 am

a hurt touching story !!! just telling us this country is headed no-where.
    ther is a baba who rented a house in my area comes every sunday fooling all sorts of people (from rich to poor)

19. Chutiyam-Sulphate (unregistered) on March 22nd, 2010 @ 2:23 pm

banned..??